Ordering a Custom Painted Pavel Dolgov Faceplate, Part 1

It’s official. I have ordered my custom painted Xbox 360 faceplate by Pavel Dolgov. The purchase was finalized and confirmed at Jun-09-07 20:18:13 PDT. Each step of this process I will document here as a few of you said you were seriously considering purchasing one too. This will hopefully assist you in the decision making process by seeing what my experience is.

I have a birthday coming up. My husband asked me if I would like the Special Edition Halo 3 Zune. While that looks like an amazing product, I know I would not utilize it to its full potential. I have found myself drooling over these faceplates for a while now so I decided this is what I would like instead. I am absolutely beyond excited and plan on displaying the piece of art in a case of some sort. I will not be mounting it on my 360.


Here is my first communication with him detailing what exactly I want on the faceplate.

Here is a link to the picture I would like on my faceplate.

I would like it based off of that but not that exactly. I would like a full pink Master Chief (as I have seen on some of your other work, simply stunning) holding the teddy bear. Then the hearts and rainbow can be scattered throughout the rest however you feel it looks best. I would like the faceplate vertical to accommodate the full Master Chief. I am a passionate Halo fan and love all things pink and girly so that picture on a faceplate is simply perfect and so very me. Your custom faceplates are truly beautiful and I am so excited to own one. Thank you and I look forward to this entire process.

This is the picture I finally selected.

pink mc

I chose this one for a variety of reasons. First, this picture holds personal significance to me. It is the image Bungie used to accompany their article of one of the Humpday Challenges I had the honor of playing in. The Humpday Challenge was an amazing experience and I have nothing but positive associations towards that image. Second, that picture is so very me. It reflects my passion for all things Halo while maintaining the girliness that is me. When I was searching for what image I wanted on my faceplate, that is the only picture I found myself returning to. There was no other picture in the running.

So there it is. Step 1 of this process to getting my custom painted faceplate. To say I am excited is an understatement. Be on the lookout for Step 2!

My Faceplate Series
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

10 Responses to Ordering a Custom Painted Pavel Dolgov Faceplate, Part 1

  1. I’m sure Pavel will do a great job with your Pink Master Chief. If he doesn’t I’ll be sure to plaster it all over thexboxdomain.net. hehehehe, but seriously hopefully you’ll get what your looking for and more.

    If you read this Pavel, don’t mess this up. Then I won’t be able to give you praise over on the Xbox Domain once again. How the Xbox Community will react to a Pink Master Chief faceplate is sure to be classic, since pink armor in Halo isn’t unheard of.

  2. Doowutchyalike says:

    Happy birthday Sweetie!

  3. Stuicide says:

    Oh this is going to rock. I can’t wait to see the finished product.

    I’m on the verge of buying one myself. Just to have something that is one of a kind.

  4. Fate says:

    I would’ve thought the MC would be holding a pinata, but a teddy bear works also.

    It’s awesome that you found a picture that truly represents yourself; I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

    Keep us posted!

  5. Fezzer says:

    Awesome. Stu is right, this will rock.

    Can’t wait to see the finished product.

    BTW, I tried that link, but it didn’t work for me. ???

  6. bsangel says:

    For some reason the blog cuts off the last part of the link. The message he got contained the correct link though. I don’t know why the blog doesn’t like it. When I went into edit mode to check it, it is correct. It just likes to cut it off for some reason. Oh well!

  7. Jenna says:

    Lucky!

  8. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  9. Pingback: Pink Spartan Faceplate - Se7en Sins Forums

  10. Waffle Deluxe says:

    Awwwww Teddy!

Leave a comment