Bungie Day 2010: How Do We Love Halo? Let Us Count the Ways!

How do we love you? Let us count the ways...

Bungie Day is a holiday created by Bungie Studios that revels in the glory of their favorite number. Occurring on the seventh day of the seventh month since the year 2007, fans and studio members alike have honored this special day for three years running. Today we commemorate the occasion with the theme, “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…” So without further ado, these are the reasons why you, the active members of our tight-knit community, love Halo. I would say we should count them, but I’m pretty sure numbers don’t go that high.

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Chris Haldor [original file]


spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love 7hee? Le7 me coun7 7he ways.
I love 7hee 7o 7he wave and round and se7
And when drope7h does Reach, we never will forge7
Phor 7he ends of and such 7hings.
And never in wra7h does 7he banhammer swing.
Mos7 quie7 lay, when facing the Guardians’ migh7.
I love 7hee deeply, especially when playing Firefigh7
I love 7hee 7ruly, when my Splazer rains dea7h
I love 7hee with a passion, hard to pu7 in7o words
Some suffer from griefers, ye7 few lose 7heir fai7h
We all love 7hee, Bungie, our 7rue fellow nerds.
Wi7h all my los7 sleep – I love 7hee with my las7 brea7h
Sho77ys, je7packs, 7ools of your 7rade! – and, if 7he Webmaster choose,
I shall love 7hee even after being 7eabagged to dea7h.

7hanks for all 7he good 7imes!
Halo: Reach is gonna kick ass!

-DenimDan312
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Reggae Panda [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee Bungie, I do not know.
It could be your amazing games you’ve put out four times in a row.
It could be the fact that I have gotten fatter; or the fact that only video games matter?
It could be the fact that Halo is awesome, the fact that GoW and MW2 had to copy you.
This is no different from roses are red and violets are blue.
I love thy Bungie like a warm summer’s day.
Well, maybe not that much because it sounds really gay.
I will keep on playing for the rest of my life,
or at least until June 30th when out comes Twilight.
No I’m just kidding, I wouldn’t do that. Edward Cullen can suck on my ball sack.
Master Chief is the one for me or Marty O’ Donnell with his amazing melodies.
He renders me speechless with his wondrous work,
I’ll be his little school girl in a tight little skirt.
Maybe Joe Staten would like some of my humps,
they’re a lot juicer than than those mean little Grunts.
I’m not saying I’m gay because I know I am not,
but proof that I love Bungie was on Sept. 27th.
HaloO 3 is what I bought. And when it all comes around for me,
that’s how I know I LOVE THEE BUNGIE! ! ! !

P.S. You guys r amazing. You have caused my mom to give me so much shit, and every time I gave her the finger and to get outta my room so I can play one more game. God bless you guys for letting me waste ten years of my life.

-Sepharim IZ God
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Picture
by ILLUSTRATED RIC

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways
I love thee for social and ranked
For that I’d like to thank
For your absolutely amazing awesome BR
which I love almost as much as the guitar
I love thee for thy love of your community
Developers and fans joined together with unity
I love thee for your franchise, Halo
the greatest in history
If any other will trump its beauty
Is a question that will remain a mystery

-I AM CH1MP
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Cessna172r [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love thee in sight and feel and touch
My mind thinks of Reach whenever we are apart
For your fun and bubble shield deserve a party
I love thee from the Pillar of Autumn level to the Halo level
As the sun light goes, I forge by midnight
Spartans and Elites we fight each other to show our love to you
My childhood shines on you and if the other team should wish,
I will love thee as soon as I respawn.

Thanks Bungie for a great time, Happy Bungie Day!

-random rob c
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Drawing
by Crazedone1988

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I Love You. Have I told you that lately?

It’s been what, eight years now since you entered my life, and you’ve been with me ever since; and look at all that has happened in that time. The things I have seen, the people I have met, and the fun I have experienced all thanks to you. Well, I wouldn’t trade one moment of it for anything.

I Love You Bungie, thank you for everything.

-Jim 028
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Wraifen 09 [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love you Bungie
And it’s totally platonic
Even though your games attract
The vulgar and moronic

The denizens of Bnet
Might not say it to your face
But when confronted with their insults
You show poise and grace

And as Halo: Reach draws near
And your work comes to a close
We know the last will be the best
Because that’s how sequels go…

Take a look at some famous ones
And then tell me if you doubt
The Transformers, Highlander sequels
Got raves reviews when they came out!

I’m almost out of rhymes
I already ran out of jokes
But I want you all to know
You’re a good old bunch of blokes

So Happy Bungie Day
On the seventh of July
And if Marty leaves the Ivory Tower
You can tell him I said hi

-DK
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Packnight501 [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love thee, Battle Rifle,
I love your shiny scope and sleek, black barrel,
You place my foes in mortal peril,
Spitting three-pronged bursts of white-hot death,
And as they draw their final breath,
Desperate, struggling to fight back,
A quick headshot ends their attack.

I love thee, Sniper Rifle,
Your vapor trails lead enemies to their graves,
Full health and shields cannot save
A target, reticle upon his head
A flash of yellow, a cloud of red,
In my ears rings your confident bark
And I know that I have hit my mark.

I love thee, Plasma Nade,
Your neon glow is a pleasure to behold,
When thrown, chaos soon unfolds,
Your shining light, like the midday sun,
Warns the victim that his time has come,
He inquires only, “Is it a spider?”
As you detonate in a plume of glorious blue fire.

I love thee, Halo,
You’ve provided me with endless hours of fun,
Teaching me how to run and gun
As I annihilate hordes of Covenant scum,
Or fighting others to develop my skills,
Getting better with each and every kill,
To this day I play you still,
For despite all else that fills my time,
Despite the other games on my mind,
I cannot leave my precious MJOLNIR armor behind.

-by Fata1Stryke
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Bungie Day 2010
by CortanaV

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee for saving us from the fire
For truth had control of the spire.
I love thee for the wondrous game.
I love thee for creating point of way.
I love thee for you have came.
For reaching out and never the same.
I love thee for creating a total B-A.
With his original pistol and his AR.
I love thee for all your work towards Reach
I love thee for an accurate D.M.R.
Driving warthogs around burning their tar,
I shall but love thee better after betrayal.

-Nacho974
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Phenomenon IV [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love to fight for freedom
For a taste I’ve never known
A freedom that I’ve fought for
A freedom not my own

I spread my wings and fly
To see freedom in my time
With my friends and comrades
Along a finer line

“You have been called upon to serve”

14 was the age
When I became a ghost
With 1.1.7 in my unit
And 85 my unnamed host

I became the best I could
Strong and swift and brave
My sword and shield around me
To stay me from my grave

“You will be trained”

A soldier like no other
A genius of my day
Yet I walk in subtle darkness
A darker shade of Grey

I do whatever it takes
Against man, machine and beast
Things I am not proud of
But things to keep the peace

“You will become the best we can make of you”

To protect and serve my oath
To fight and kill my game
I fight because I choose to
But in another’s name

I love to fight for freedom
A freedom not my own
I am a Spartan
And for your sins I must atone

“You will be the protectors of Earth and all her colonies”

-X
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Drawing
by redred74

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways
1: ALI3NZ! Halo is awesome!
2: Epicness that is BUNGIE! Halo is awesome!
3: ANGELS PLAY WHILE I KILL GRUNTS! Halo is awesome!
4: Halo is awesome!
5: Halo is awesome!
6: Oh so much to do. Halo is awesome!
7: I grow one inch with every killing spree! HALO IS F%*$#ING AMAZING!

-Dir L Church
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by MaRquEll LaCy [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love the way the horizon looks,
even from the smallest of nooks,
I remember that fight,
it lasted approximately one fortnight.

The grenades explode and the rockets fly,
And yet… somehow…. I never die,
Bullets flying off my armor,
We are to advance, pass the harbor,
My comrades fall all around me in vain,
All I can do is ignore the pain,
The enemies fell one by one,
This was no fun,
Suddenly a huge impact,
Seems like we have made contact,
Swerve to the left to dodge the fire,
It was the Covenant Empire!!!
I fired my gun,
I think we won!!!
Suddenly a big white flash……
The last thing I remember is the ash.

Now above the planet with nothing but metal beneath my feet,
It’s where I stay to replete,
The mission was a success,
However, it was a huge mess.

It’s been some time since then,
I might have to go through that again,
The months seem like days,
The magic of the cryo-chamber still amaze.

If this view is real, then it must be heaven,
For if it's not, then my name is not John-117.

-Deltaooh9
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Kassidy [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love you Bungie, oh yes I do.
Sometimes I get mad, and sometimes sad.
I’ve been there for the good times, and the bad.
I’ve had dreams of working for you, while shining my shoe.
I visit your website, I’m a big fan.
I even still have my Game Fuel Halo 3 can!

But that doesn’t matter, not really.
What matters is that I love you, yes really.
By now you’ve grown up, you came out of Microsoft’s wing and flew away.
But you met someone, Activision is his name, I think?
I'm just letting you know, if Activision hurts you,
I'll beat the f***ing s**t out of those b**ches.

See you at the 7/7/77 anniversary party!

-Blast73
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I Love Thee
by Adrian

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

I love the way thee is challenging yet lovable,
I love the way thee separates the Privates from the Generals,
I love the way that thee gives Recon upon beating the hardest challenges,
I love the way thee has been running for so many years and keeps grinding on,
I love the way thee has so many mysteries surrounding thee,
I love the way thee are awesome every day,
I love thee Halo.

-Jamiie v1
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by CTrain1007 [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee… thee who? Bungie! Are you amazed?
The divine creators of the world’s favorite games
and brightening the day when skies are gray.

I love thee... Master Chief, Halo's great centerpiece.
From Combat Evolved to Halo 3, you never failed to please.
You always managed to succeed in putting my mind at ease.
It’s sad to see you cease, as the torch is passed to REACH.

I love thee... Noble Team, great heroes to be.
Previously overlooked, but the world will soon see
how epic your battle was… to an infinite degree.
Is this love? Yes!… It’s love indeed.

-PrimeTizZy
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Picture
by Scout643

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love every headshot, and spree and kill,
Dreaming of Reach, while I’m king of the hill,
n00bs try to AR rush me in vain, and
I love every last level of your campaign,
Cortana’s smexy (for a purple light),
I love the last cutscene, we finished the fight!
I love the Laser, with its crimson rays,
I love two for ones, against a n00b’s ‘goose,
And bagging triples from O.D.S.T’s Wraiths,
I loved Halo 2’s B-X-R abuse,
God I miss it, I loved Backwash online!
I haven’t wasted my life – Hey, if I got to choose,
A life spent on Halo would be just fine!

-TeapotKing
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Hunter [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

I love all the Brutes and Grunts in Halo
Cause’ they make me say I hate yo
I love all the guns in Halo
When I use them I always say NO
I love Master Chief to appear in Halo
Cause’ he always defeats the Covenant in seconds
I love Carter and Kat in Halo
They are just as the mom of Halo
I love all the things in Halo

-Rasconicov
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by TTBS Shystie [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways,
I love the sight of magnificent rings,
or the death of three blinded kings.
The shining swords,
in reptilian hands,
and that alone in the chaos,
one man stands.
I love the screams,
as aliens draw their last breath,
from my blood-covered hands,
and that even in death,
I may respawn to fight another day.

-Chris
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Luke [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
I love thee to the Grunt and Brute of different height.
My soul can Reach, when feeling out of gunsight.
For the ends of Bungie and ideal Hog Race.
I love thee to the level of Cortana
Most violent needs, rocket -blam- I’m a gona’.
I love thee freely, as men strive for Reconz;
I love thee purely, as they turn to grunt deconz.
I love thee with a passion on a ‘Goose
In my old Wraith, my trigger finger loose.
I love thee with a b-rifle I prefer to use
With my lost Rings, — I slay thee with the power of Urk,
Bullets, blams, of all my life! — and, if I’m a Jerk,
I shall but t-bag thee after death.

-Mr PlrxtnQ
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by HC Shelburne [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Hours and hours have I played that game,
Days, months, and years it’s all the same.
Learning all the many tricks of the trade,
so I could pwn n00bs with my Energy Blade.
Halo truly was combat evolved,
but the ending was never truly resolved.
Then came Halo 2 and with it the end,
of the patience of gamers, that couldn’t comprehend
why Bungie let us down, with barely a climax.
Soon, we’ll hafta wait for the movie on IMAX.
Then Bungie said, “We’re gonna take a break.”
They didn’t want Halo 3 to be the next game they make.
But boy were we all in for a surprise,
in E3 ‘06 when we saw Master Chief arise,
out of that smoke for the very first time.
It was like the God himself had sent us a sign.
It was the shot heard all around the nation.
Then out came all the speculation
When in ‘07 will it release?
And will it really be the 360’s beast?
Well a few months later it was November 15,
The anniversary of the first time Halo was seen…
With it came tons and tons of fresh news
And pictures and video containing new clues,
into Halo 3’s vast new multiplayer,
like awesome new weapons in team slayer.
Now it's over, we've finished the fight,
but stories remain to be brought to light
To think it once was a mere RTS.
Now toys, books, and movies fill its nest.
Soon we will have Halo: Reach,
Bungie’s swan song where they hope to teach,
the story of Noble team, the valiant, the brave.
I fear it will end with them all in the grave.
Now we gather to celebrate Bungie Day.
While still more people join in the fray,
that is Bungie’s world domination.
We’re sure they’ll live up to our expectations.
What is next for the beloved team?
What could possibly be their next scheme?
Well it looks like we will have to wait and see
Because nobody is more excited than me.

-Hunter G3
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by immortal eNeME [original file]

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee in the fight,
How do I love thee on the night,
How do I love thee massive party,
How do I love thee old guy Marty,
How do I love thee in my heart,
How do I love thee on my part,
I shall love thee on Halo,
I shall love thee only pavelow,
I shall love thee Firefight,
I shall love thee for delight,
I shall love thee forever,
I shall love thee endeavor.

-Halo Estrada
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo Display Boxes
by VVilly

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

In countless ways, for the past ten years, you’ve changed my life forever. Because of you, because of Halo, I found friends who care, and love the same things I do, because of your determination to us, the community as a whole, I thank you. And because of Bungie Day, I’m finally writing something, dedicated to you, after years of reading and keeping silent on HMB. Thanks for giving me something to look forward to on Friday Nights, thanks for keeping me awake on the night before Halo 2, Halo 3, ODST, and the Beta (it was super awesome!). Thanks for giving me something to, as cheesy as this sounds, live for, for being there when I lost many important things in my life, thanks for introducing me into a great community of people, who love the fact that I love Halo, and wouldn’t label me as a nerd, but would embrace me because of that. My life has been changed for 7he better ever since my Xbox and my copy of Halo for Christmas of 2001.

So, how do I love thee? After all these years? Simple, when I finish my iPhone app, a game that I’ve been working on for about two years now, that is my pride and joy, is dedicated to Bungie Studios, Llc. Because of them, I choose to pick up my first book on how to learn C, and from then on, I looked to them as my idol to try to build something like you guys did, in the 90’s, with your earlier titles, I’m trying to recreate that level of awesome that you guys did, and still do into your games. So, thanks for shaping me into a Game Nerd, thanks for Halo, and above all, thanks for helping me, a 15 year old kid, get into the gaming industry at such a young age. Thanks for an amazing ten years as a fanboy,
and I look forward to many more!

A young fanboy’s love and many wishes for a successful future!
Happy Bung7e Day!

-Regan Freeman, CEO DigitalAnt Llc.
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer


by KWDzero

spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

How do I love thee? Let me count the games I’ve played.
I love thee as long as I see and hear and live or until
my Xbox gets the RRoD, when feeling the urge of playing
For the ends of long and hard days.
I love thee to the level of playing all day
Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.
I love thee freely, as I strive for Victory;
I love thee purely, as I turn from Failure.
I love thee with a passion put to use
In every great game, and with every multikill.
I love thee with a love I seemed to lose
With my every death, — I love thee with the breath,
Smiles, tears, of all my life! — and, if God choose,
I shall but love thee better when COD makes another game.

-IIIVIIIIVIIIII
spacer

Black Spacer

spacer

Halo 3 Screenshot
by Alex [original file]

30 Responses to Bungie Day 2010: How Do We Love Halo? Let Us Count the Ways!

  1. voicedwalnut says:

    oh man great post angel I just wish I could have got something for Bungie day

  2. TJ says:

    Absolutely fantastic work everyone! :)

  3. XXLChicken says:

    VVilly Failed. He plastered only 4 display boxes. The ODST is just a poster. Unless he did put up and ODST but didn’t get it in the photo, which still constitutes a fail. And before anyone flame, flame this:

    I haven’t bought Mythic/Legendary map sets and I hope Bungie will make it free this Bungie Day.

    • Undercover Duck says:

      *stares at evilly*

    • Hector4369 says:

      halo wars is not bungie……….

      • RUSSIAN ODST says:

        ya its not bungie but it is halo the super kickass series that bungie created

      • woooor says:

        YOU SHUT YOUR WHORE MOUTH

  4. Truly brilliant! Well done!

  5. Rippolighter159 says:

    I feel bad because I was making a video thing and I didn’t finish it, oh well save it for next year.

  6. Scout643 says:

    I did not draw that dark enough. But you guys can still see what it says, right?

  7. ComaToast says:

    OMG SOMEONE MISSED THIS ONE!

  8. Pingback: Happy Bungie Day ’10! | Trigger Happy

  9. Willy says:

    ComaToast that video is sweet.

    XXLChicken I don’t have the ODST display box yet, I plan on getting it one day. Who cares about the Halo Wars box or ODST poster lets all just show Bungie some love and play Halo.

    …I still love all my display boxes equally and yes even the ODST poster as well.

    Happy Bungie Day everyone!!!

    • bs angel says:

      I loved your picture Willy. And I’m jealous of your fabulous box collection!!

  10. Freakin’ sweet, guys. Well done. I’m sorry I didn’t get to participate, but it’s good to see so many people did.

  11. hongoasdf says:

    I love thee, Bungie, for bringin’ Blood Gulch back, and all those good hours of fun I had.

  12. Das Kalk says:

    MAN, WHOEVER THAT DK GUY IS MUST BE SO COOL!

    great submissions everyone!

  13. Xor1an says:

    As an old-school Bungie fan (Pfhan?), the Marathon terminal one really made me smile.

    • CortanaV says:

      That was mine. I’m really glad you liked it! Old-school Marathon fans, unite!

      • Das Kalk says:

        I was a little too young to appreciate them when they came out, but I found them in later years and fell in love. I even have a marathon Tattoo! Frogblast the ventcore!

  14. Regan Freeman says:

    And I just realized mine is the only one up there without how do I love thee… I thought I put it up there, but I did type this after a long day of coding :(, oh well, I at least
    meant well!

    • bs angel says:

      It could be that I edited out your first line because I thought it was a title. I did that on a few and just realized I probably shouldn’t have. Oops!

  15. L337MA573R says:

    I wanted to do something, but the theme kinda threw me off. Wasn’t really sure what I was supposed to to with it.

    Maybe I’m just an idiot. Regardless, great submissions.

    • bs angel says:

      I think I stumped quite a few people with the theme this year. I didn’t mean to, I thought it would be fairly easy but I was mistaken. I’ll definitely make it broader next year!

  16. Gotta love those poems. Nice submissions people! Mine wasn’t too creative though.

    • bs angel says:

      Yours was absolutely perfect for you. :)

  17. DenimDan312 says:

    It was difficult to word it so there was the right number of 7’s. I though it was okay.

  18. Elnea says:

    I love all of these!

  19. v1t1m1n A says:

    Nice. I’m surprised mine is on a page with some of these. haha apparently I’m a bit rusty with photoshop.

  20. TeapotKing says:

    mine got featured =D my PC has been broken so it’s taken me this long to check up on this but I’m really happy about that ^^ everyone else’s entries were amizing too.

Leave a Reply

