The Juggernaut That Is Social Gaming

The Rise of Social Gaming

Source [Online Schools]

17 Responses to The Juggernaut That Is Social Gaming

  1. soulofaqua says:

    In other words plagiarism and lack of fun = big money!

    • Mizzy says:

      Strange enough that one of the slogans Mike Rowe on Dirty Jobs last night was “Make a date to imitate”, because everything would be prototypes if someone didn’t try to make it better.

  2. lozg1985 says:

    farmvillie will kill us all!

  3. bs angel says:

    I’m proud to say that I’ve never played FarmVille!

    (I’d probably love it if I did though. O_o)

    • Dekar2401 says:

      I…I…just don’t know if I should take that to be a good thing or a bad thing…Farmville is the DEVIL!! But grats on not playing it.

    • Ben Of Bodom UK says:

      Same, I refuse to play any of these Facebook games.

  4. Sonu says:

    And this is why I played Playfish back when I actually used Facebook for something besides spamming my brother’s Wall.

  5. Grif says:

    Man it’s hard to look at casual games. As an elitist of the games industry, I can’t take anyone seriously (gaming wise and sometimes just in general) who plays them.

    • Dekar2401 says:

      Likewise, elitist, I am.

  6. I signed up for Farmville so that my friend would stop asking me to. He needed someone to sign up under his recommendation or something. I have not touched it since then. Give me a real game over some farm game any day. If I wanna play a tycoon-like game, I’ll play Rollercoaster Tycoon or something. At least then I can send little pixelated people to their untimely but hilarious deaths.

    It makes me sad to see 7 11 with those farmville cups and stuff now. ._.

  7. douche-wad says:

    “Casual Gamers” need to piss off

  8. Captain Spark says:

    I’ve never played Farmville on Facebook. Now if farmville had plasma grenades and needlers, I might play it :)

  9. Obi Wan Stevobi says:

    I’ve seen you co-op gardening, angel >=(

    But really, this is a horrible trend. Once devs figure out they can make way more money with shitty flash games, our $30M blockbusters are going to start vanishing.

    • bs angel says:

      I do play Viva Pinata, but only the super hardcore version. That’s right, I’m talking about Party Animals baby!!

    • Krumbles says:

      I doubt developers will succomb to this the way you think. Speaking for myself, I would much rather make an amazing game that takes a while to develop and is fun for me to play for long periods (aka not little flash games). Also, it’s not like everyone can tap the same casual market. Someone has to go after the hardcore market because it’s still there. When the market dies, the games die. Don’t let the market die. Keep buying those awesome blockbusters.

  10. Logz says:

    this scares me….

  11. Glasses Guy says:

    I hate Zygna. Their games bug me and their many wall posts clog my wall. They copy crap, and their constant shizz has caused numerous wars worse than Halo V.s. COD. Then again, I shouldn’t be so rash. They took advantage of a marker just like everyone else.

Leave a Reply

