Lego Halo: The Ringworld

Halo Lego Ringworld

I like the Halo Ringworld as much as the next guy, but my passion for that particular orbiting habitat doesn’t even begin to hold a candle to Catsy’s. Possessing a higher than average skill for constructing things out of interlocking plastic bricks, he got the brilliant idea to recreate the ring-shaped Halo structure solely out of Legos. His massive project has not reached completion but even in its current unfinished state, it still manages to amaze.

Halo Lego Ringworld

In an effort to keep things as accurate as possible, Catsy started off with actual maps and mathematically transformed them into their Lego equivalent. The official state of the project (as of early June) stands at the outer ring/hull being finished, the inner ring/landmasses at 55% done, and a display stand next in line on the neverending list of things to do.
spacer

Halo Lego Ringworld

The entire toy orb has a diameter of almost five feet, which just so happens to be an inch or two short of how tall I stand. Now that I think about it, this is probably an elaborate ploy to lure me into a candlelit sphere so I can be sacrificed to the Guardians. Oh well, I can think of worse ways to go, that’s for sure!

See Catsy’s complete Halo Ringworld WIP gallery here

*Images posted with permission

31 Responses to Lego Halo: The Ringworld

  1. Voicedwalnut says:

    That is awesome

  2. Me likey.

  3. DeliciousCube says:

    Wait ’till it explodes, Legos everywhere!

  4. Words…cannot…describe…

  5. Nuclear Pi says:

    Hax.
    Its gotta be Hax
    Nothing else could produce something so mind-bogglingly awesome…

  6. Mendicant oxide says:

    someone call bungie

  7. shector says:

    A… Ma… Zing!!!

  8. Ray says:

    Don’t let the Reclaimer land on it… he’ll blow that shit up, lol.

  9. Hunter85792 says:

    Awwwwww, no dirty jokes…

    • Crazy A 64 says:

      I think Angel is sick (and not in the usual sense of the word) there is the slight mention of the ringworld at the start of the article but surely a piece like this is primed for rimmage?!

      It was the same with her guesting on ODS Steve, a blank canvas of innuendo and we got a joke about shots O_o I for one and concerned quick someone call the innuendo medics!

      • bs angel says:

        After reading your comment, I’m worried about myself now! Anybody know a doctor?

        • jamieWho says:

          I’m not a doctor, but I’ll take a look…

  10. Holy hell, that’s awesome. Somebody get Bungie to give this guy some kind of acknowledgment.

  11. Joe says:

    OH MY FREAKING GOSH! THIS. IS. THE MOST AWESOME THING I’VE EVER SEEN!!!

  12. hongoasdf says:

    Suck it, Lego Batman!

    • Thors toe says:

      I agree with this guy.

  13. DeadEye says:

    Now all we need is a miniature Pillar of Autumn, In Amber Clad, or Forward Unto Dawn. Just don’t let the humans land on the ring, it never really ends well.

    • bs angel says:

      There was actually discussion about this on one of the images! I think he opted to not do that because in order to do it to scale with his current build, they would be too small to actually construct.

      • Catsy says:

        Truth. The ring cross-section is about 320km, and since the model is 10 studs across, that makes each Lego stud 32^2km in this scale. The Pillar of Autumn is (depending on your reference) about 1.7km long–which in this scale is smaller than the hole in the “o” of LEGO on the top of the stud.

        I think what I’m going to do when I display it is put a little sign beside the model labeled “Pillar of Autumn (to scale)” with an arrow pointing to… nothing. And see how many people get eye strain trying to find it.

        • WRising says:

          last paragraph – awesome! I wish I could see those people

  14. WRising says:

    we best get an update when this is done!

    lol, cant wait for the end

    • bs angel says:

      You know it! I’m watching the project and am also in touch with the creator so I should hear about its completion, one way or another. :)

  15. Sonu says:

    Now I want to start working on that Bionicle Magnum I’ve been talking about since Potu’s Plasma Pistol got on here…

    • voicedwalnut says:

      hey Sonu I thought you were going to make a plasma rifle

  16. araknoros says:

    -dies due to epicness-

  17. Nevets says:

    Seems like you need a PIllar of Autumn and a Long sword block to bust it all up in the end.

  18. K2TheM says:

    Wow. That is a lot of bending to keep it curved… I wonder if it will support itself in circular form when done? I would think it would try and make itself a bit un-round.

    Very cool build.

  19. Carter says:

    OMG you have talent

  20. Mastersword505 says:

    sick!! ijust got threw building a replica of a hawk from halo wars and it took me forever with the intructions that ring takes chuck norris skill and youve got it

  21. Earth Kin says:

    Pics or it didn’t…oh, wait. It did.

    And it’s freaking awesome. :D

  22. Bootybox says:

    I love all Halo games and I love Lego games. They should make Lego halo the video game.

Leave a Reply

