Halo: Reach Launches September 14th, 2010

Halo Reach Screenshot

Grab a vacation request form or start drafting a detailed sick note because the official release date for Halo: Reach has finally been announced. Expected to fall onto a store shelf near you on September 14th, 2010, it will be available in three very different and distinct flavors: the standard, plain vanilla edition for $59.99, the slightly more exciting limited edition for $79.99, and the absolutely cannot live without legendary edition for $149.99. The limited edition will include “an exclusive Elite armor set for use in multiplayer modes and an artifact bag containing Dr. Halsey’s personal journal and other classified documents and effects that unravel long held secrets from the Halo universe” while the legendary version will come with a Noble Team statue and a flaming helmet for your multiplayer Spartan. Pray tell, which edition, if any, will be making a dent in your wallet this fall?

45 Responses to Halo: Reach Launches September 14th, 2010

  1. Nicodemus says:

    I want the flaming helmet so bad!!! Hope to save all of my money for it!

  2. Zwooosh says:

    I’d better save some money during the holidays for the Legendary edition :D

  3. Andrew says:

    Legendary Edition already pre-ordered from Amazon. Can’t wait!

    • Sonu says:

      A week after my birthday… that should work… now as long as nothing gets screwed up, I should be good to go.

      Now if I could only get the Legendary Edition. Flaming helmet is WANT.

  4. gr1nandbear1t says:

    want to legendary edition but depends on monies :| hate being a student…

  5. Cozmo23 says:

    Probably limited for me. Never saw the appeal of a flaming helmet. Every time I played Bungie guys in H3 they stuck out like a sore thumb.

  6. porge says:

    Updating my calendar now… I am officially busy starting September 14 for a week, maybe week and a half. Would get legendary, but I wouldn’t have any time to admire a 10-pound statue, my eyes will be glued to the T.V. so Limited is the way to go for me.

  7. Seraph XXVII says:

    Already have the legendary edition paid for! Out of all the bonuses I look forward to the journal and elite armor. I love every bit of lore/cannon I can get my hands on.

  8. xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

    I can’t wait! :D

  9. gamin2trollin says:

    Limited =D cos there is nothing better than roaming around in a different looking dinosaur suit ;)

    • hongoasdf says:

      Excellent choice, my brother!

  10. As cool as it would be to have a flaming hemlet, truth is, I don’t really want to pay $150 for it. All I really want is Halsey’s journal, so I’ll probably just spring for the limited edition.

    • bs angel says:

      That’s what I’m leaning towards as well.

  11. Awesome;Opossum;McCoy says:

    Legendary Edition. Too bad the development of OLED TVs aren’t past 15 inches :(

    • Crazy A 64 says:

      Actually they recently managed to print a 50″ OLED screen in under 2 minutes so we’re not far off :)

      • Awesome;Opossum;McCoy says:

        Yeah, I know Sony had a 42” or something a couple of years ago, but the biggest commercial O-LED TV is 15”, and costs like 2500US$?

  12. Fogun says:

    Normal, I just want to play the game.

    • augustelc says:

      same here, i unfortunatly dont want to waste twenty dollars on a flaming helmet and statue. maybe ten. what can i say? im cheap…

    • Cazafex says:

      Exactly. Maybe if they added in like a free map pack id get the limited, but if all u get is a journal thing then ill save my money

  13. hongoasdf says:

    September 14th will be my new birthday, for I will be reborn that day.

    I’m tempted to go limited. Then again, I’d need an xbox 360 first, so my money should be priorized over there.

    Either way, I should start prostituting myself just about now.

    Yes, angel, that’s your cue.

    • bs angel says:

      You rang?!

      • Extreme says:

        Sept 14 is my birthday, going to be the best birthday ever!!

  14. Panncakez says:

    Calender marked.

    And, I thought I’d point this out to you guys, but I really was hoping I wouldn’t hear this. This was on Bungie’s front page.
    “As a special bonus, fans can receive a token to unlock an exclusive in-game Spartan Recon Helmet, by picking up a copy of the game on launch day at North American retail stores, and outside of North America by making a pre-order reservation at participating retailers. “

    • Awesome;Opossum;McCoy says:

      Don’t care, the Armor is boring and unimaginative.

      • lozg1985 says:

        that wasn’t the full armor set it was a teaser amount, they’ve hinted at a lot more in the bungie weekly updates.

        • TeapotKing says:

          I’ve preordered the Legendary and a standard, as over here in the UK you can only get recon by preordering the standard edition from GAME. I’m fine with buying two copies for my Flaming recon =D

    • So, everyone and their mother is going to have Recon. It’ll become the new Hyabusa. Which means the only way to be unique is to not have Recon. Awesome. X_X

      • Cazafex says:

        Does it rly shock u though? U knew one day someone would try to monetize recon. It was inevitable.

        • cipher.Cero says:

          “Monetize” Recon?

          You realize it’s a -free- launch day incentive, right?

        • Cazafex says:

          Since when is spending 60 dollars free? They want big day 1 numbers and this will give them it

  15. NakedScooter says:

    Darn, I won’t be able to go to the midnight release for this. I’ll be in South Carolina finishing up basic training. I probably won’t get to play the game until a few months after it’s been released. =(

    • Nuclear Pi says:

      Tell you what, I’ll play it for you and then E-mail you a plot summary
      *evil laugh*

  16. PikminGod says:

    I’ve had the legendary edition pre-ordered for a while now!!

  17. ShadowCat says:

    Im preordering my legendary tomorrow. There are still spaces left on the list. I was going to get the limited but my dad wants the statuette :D. I win

  18. Monkey_lord says:

    I reserved limited, and already payed it off (thank you gamestop). The flaming helmet may give your position away when playing infection (personal observation) so no go. Err. Sorry for that brag.

  19. cipher.Cero says:

    Already have $110 put down for my Legendary Edition over the past couple of months. Costing me nothing but a couple trips to fast food joints per week. Not a bad deal at all.

    This is the first Halo game I’ve bought above the standard edition. I’m really optimistic for this one.

  20. Nuclear Pi says:

    Pre-order: Check.
    Cryogenically Sealed controller (just making sure): Check
    Countdown Timer: Check
    Time until launch: 3 months 19 days 6 hours and 10 minutes

  21. lozg1985 says:

    got my legendary ordered at my local shop before the release date, i even put money down to make sure i get one. my only regret is i never managed to get hold of the legendary halo 3.

    • Doc says:

      Really, Best Buy was selling those dirt cheap at some locations just late last year.

  22. A Shaky Shotgun says:

    I had mine reserved when they announced Reach and upgraded to Legendary when it was announced.

  23. Jim 028 says:

    Looking forward to the 14th seeing as I’ve got orders in for three people. ¬_¬ It’s a good job all my bills will go out after the payday a week later. :D

  24. DragoFlyrr says:

    My Bday is in August so… All im asking for my bday is MONEY!!!
    Im gonna preorder Legendary edition because i want the Flaming Helmet… Im kinda a Pyromaniac…. especially on Halo… ;)

    • Eden says:

      Yh, my birthday is August 1st so I’m hoping all I get is money too! Will be getting legendary so I can make bad ginger jokes about myself :). I hate it when Bungie does a “pre-order and get a code e-mailed to you that gives you something that sounds coll and that ultimately does nothing”. Still very exited when I saw it though.

  25. TheChrisD says:

    Plain old boring vanilla standard edition for me. No point in wasting more money that I already have to just for extra tack.

  26. crymsonnite says:

    I of course only NEED the diary, I just need my halo backstory fix, I’ll admit it, I’m a halo junkie…..
    but that statue is KICK ASS!

Leave a Reply

