Reminder: Last Weekend to Play Halo 2!

Halo 2

Microsoft will be pulling the plug on their support of original Xbox titles on the very soon date of April 15th. That means this is the last weekend you can play Halo 2 (or any other of your favorite older games) multiplayer online. Bungie is hosting their own festivities on April 14th and will be bestowing “a piece of visual flair for use in Halo: Reach multiplayer” to those that join them on the virtual battlefield on the eve of its demise. They have other prizes they will be giving away as well but those details are shrouded in their usual cloud of mystery. Whether you played Halo 2 back in the day or not, be sure to give this gem a proper farewell.

36 Responses to Reminder: Last Weekend to Play Halo 2!

  1. flurf says:

    I clocked in four or five games of Halo 2 last night- I don’t think anything will ever come close to the awesomeness of playing an 8v8 BTB game on Lockout (though 8v8 Duals on Beaver Creek comes in a close second). I can’t believe I didn’t spend every waking moment of my childhood absorbing every last bit of this game.

    Oh wait, I did. C:

  2. ElusiveEagle says:

    Hmm…that’s not exactly how I remembered the game looking…

    • bs angel says:

      Then clearly you haven’t played in a while Elusive. Shame on you!!

  3. Hyokin says:

    Maybe I can play with you a bit Hawty.

    And then we can play Xbox. ;)

  4. Personsen says:

    DANGIT!
    I’m still waiting for my Xbox to get back from having the RRoD!!! >_<

    *sniff*

    :'(

    …Goodbye Halo 2…

    • bs angel says:

      Oh no, what horrible timing! :(

      • IcyTreats says:

        It’s ok, dude. You’re not the only one.

        Guess I’ll just have to play H2 Vista :'(

  5. ComaToast says:

    Awwww… “if you cross their paths” what are the odds of that? That’s like when they wanted to give Recon away if you even had the good fortune of beating them on Halo 3 Bungie Day. Meeting them was hard enough as it is. There was only like 4 teams of them. This better be the entire company on on that day, cos I would like a piece of visual flair on Reach as well :)

    • ComaToast says:

      Sorry double post.

      “Oh! And it also might help to know, that I am addicted to Halo. Oh, and yeah, I’m a girl..so…yeah.. ” <— Last part of Artists comments on the deviant art image at the top.

      When I read that I thought, "Hawty I didn't know you were that good of an artist."

      • bs angel says:

        Yeah, I’m definitely not, lol … I don’t have a single artistic bone in my body unfortunately.

        • ReverendTiki says:

          At least not at the moment ;)

    • Panncakez says:

      Dare I say it?…

      That, my friend, is what she said.

  6. Chief got a mullet, where does it come out?

    • Well that pesky Cortana isn’t taking up space in the back of the helmet anymore, so Chief could finally let his hair down.

      And cross-dress.

      • She was a bit fat wasn’t she…

        • She was retaining data.

        • bs angel says:

          LOL… :thumbs up:

  7. cardo8 says:

    *sniffles*

  8. Panncakez says:

    Lawl, bewbs.

  9. HellCat says:

    Im going on now anyone care to play? GT:shadowcatnz

  10. hongoasdf says:

    “I would like to let everyone know that I’m a girl… and I like ribbons in my hair… and I would like to kiss all the boys”

    So yeah, bak to the topic… I can’t believe it’s going. It truly is the end of an era. /Sadness

  11. RokNTek says:

    Managed to totally randomly get matchmade into a game with bsa last night – quite the moment. :)

    Guess I’ll never get around to checking out Battlefront II multiplayer – bummer.

    • bs angel says:

      Hopefully I was behaving myself!

      You didn’t miss much with Battlefront II. Pop in the original instead. That one was better. :)

  12. You don’t need to cross there paths, its everyone who plays.

    Urk can’t lie?

    • “As thanks for throwing down, we’re committed to granting everyone who plays with us on the 14th a piece of visual flair for use in Halo: Reach multiplayer as a symbol of our gratitude.”

    • I thought it was only if you played against Bungie, but I don’t know now, reading that quote again. D:

      Meh, I’ll play anyway.

      • bs angel says:

        urk quote from the thread Undercover Duck linked:

        Everyone who plays, period.

        Thanks for finding that btw UD!

        • Sweet! I will play fer shur then. I did not notice that Urk was a link. >.<

        • bs angel says:

          I only noticed because the comments come to my inbox without the html. :)

  13. UnrealCh13f says:

    Well, let’s hope that I can actually get into a BTB game without waiting for AGES for it to happen! There aren’t enough people playing it! :'(

    On the brightside of things, it was kinda random that I bumped right into angel last night! I was going to play only one game, instead, I played for a good 1-2 hours! :D Thanks!

  14. HSAR says:

    So, er, is this what happens when you BXR too much?

  15. The HALO DMH Clan will be there in full force =)

  16. Natonator says:

    I’m so confused! I’m in Australia, in Perth, so I don’t know when I should play. If I play on our 14th, its the 13th in the US so I’ll be too early, but I don’t know what time on our 15th (US 14th) it’ll be taken offline, so I might be too late for the festivities! Could someone please provide advice, or perhaps a DeLorean?

    • bs angel says:

      FYI, I put the end time as the time to convert so you want to make sure you log in significantly earlier than what is listed. You’ll also want to double check to make sure I got all the details right. I don’t want to be responsible for you missing the H2 farewell festivities. :)

      Clickity Click Click

      • Natonator says:

        Phew! Thanks a bundle, I’ll be sure to be on before then. I haven’t been able to double check the exact time it’ll shut down, but I’ll make sure to be on the day before, just in case they mean it will be shut down by the 14th, and not at the end of the day. Thanks again!

  17. Poopie McGhee says:

    Ahh… Last night was fun :D

Leave a Reply

