8-Bit Beads in Motion

Plastic fusible beads are a favorite amongst the crafting community because of their very versatile nature. They can be melted into each other to create various sprites, they can be strung together to form necklaces, and they can even be used to make awesome stop-motion animations. EricOdmyr, who opted for the last idea, found his inspiration from various 8-bit video games. He recorded his colorful Hama beads, frame by frame, until he was left with this short film depicting scenes from Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros. 3, Mega Man, and The Legend of Zelda. These aren’t exactly the beads I’m used to playing with but hey, it works!

13 Responses to 8-Bit Beads in Motion

  1. cardo8 says:

    Seriously, bs, how the hell do you have this stuff ready to go after an hour-long CTF Blood Gulch match??

    • bs angel says:

      LOL … I wrote it up before I signed on for my late night session. :sunglasses:

      That was one awesome game btw!

      • Poopie McGhee says:

        YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!

        (goes with the shades)…

  2. Rhamsey says:

    Even though there are so many of these things, I love watching them. They just cheer me up inside.

    • bs angel says:

      I’ve seen Lego ones, but I don’t think I’ve seen one with Perler beads before. I’m sure they’re out there, I just haven’t viewed them before now. Definitely a great medium for something like this.

  3. xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

    Sofa-King-Awesome!

  4. Holy cow, nice job Eric. That song’s catchy, too.

  5. Scotty says:

    That’s awesome!! :)

  6. Thors toe says:

    Impressive, most impressive but you are not a Jedi yet.

    Seriously I dig this. :-)

  7. iCeDrAgOn01 says:

    That’s pretty sick. My sister used those beads to make stuff and I always thought they were gay as hell until today. I am definitely impressed.

  8. RokNTek says:

    “These aren’t exactly the beads I’m used to playing with…”

    Uh-huh… And I’m the first to comment on >that<?!? :)

  9. Mr Poe says:

    Now that was awesome and the music was really catchy too…

  10. xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

    Phat beats, yo. Badass beads too.

Leave a Reply

