Halo: Reach Multiplayer Trailer

76 Responses to Halo: Reach Multiplayer Trailer

  1. Grumpy Jedi says:

    There are too many “geek-out” worthy things shown in this video. The more I see on Halo Reach, the more difficult the wait for it becomes.

    • Wasiq Khan says:

      My only problems with this game is that
      1. The Stealth Kills sound like beatdowns instead of a cool knife slash sound
      2. The graphics aer darker, more Halo 2 like(which isn’t a bad thing)
      3. Can’t come out soon enough!!!!

      Lets cross our fingers and hope that the jetpack is easy to control…unlike Iron-Mans…

      • Cardo says:

        Yo Wasiq,
        I thought I heard a couple ‘filler’ sound effects in that video. Did you hear the punch at the beginning? That sounded like an H3 placeholder sound effect.

        I’m really nervous about this assassination technique in mp.

        • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

          Could be, the game isn’t quite finished, after all.

          And I think they might need a patch down the road if the assassination stuff ends up slightly unbalanced or whatever.
          Its something new, something they haven’t done before, and I think everyone’s a little anxious to try it.
          Well, everyone just wants to try the whole game in general. Nao.

  2. liphttam1 says:

    Just saw this on bnet.

    I always hate when videos on games I want come out, always makes the wait harder.

  3. ComaToast says:

    Can’t wait. The jetpacks sorta remind of the Section 8 multiplayer demo I played. Looks like it’s turning out to be good overall, and THANK GOD you can roll in this game, hopefully you can actually lay prone, that’s what woulda sorta made Halo 3 better for me. But at least you can roll.

    • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

      I don’t think prone will be something in Reach.
      There isn’t much use for it, and there wasn’t any in the trailer.
      Sorry. :/

    • Marksman says:

      I was reminded of Star Wars Battlefront.
      As a Clone, you could be a Shock Trooper (Clone Drop Shock Troopers, CDST. LOL) which had a VERY limited Jetpack. But it was cool.

  4. Mizzy says:

    Wow, jetpacks are going to add a whole new level of of cheap.

    • InsaneViking says:

      Yea… that potential is definitely there. Level design will have to be top notch. There might be some interesting vertically designed maps, though.

  5. bs angel says:

    Want.

    • ComaToast says:

      Nope, I already called shotgun, dibs, I licked it, and wrote my name on it. According to the Dibs, shotgun, lick, and name writing rules, I get Reach first.

      • bs angel says:

        We’ll see about that! ;)

        • Das Kalk says:

          Chewie no Lando!

      • Eternalist says:

        shotgun…fuck!

        • Doc says:

          Shotgun’s lap!

      • Marksman says:

        Shotgun scores the Shotgun. No need for others.

        Shotgun!

  6. Overdoziz says:

    Phantom……………?

  7. Eternalist says:

    If we still have Forge, Custom games and theatre mode on Reach, I don’t think I’ll ever stop playing it.

    • those three features MADE Halo 3 imo, i really doubt that Bungie would leave them out… but if they do, Jerome is gonna have to enforce his authority… ;)

      • Wasiq Khan says:

        JEROME SMASH!

      • InsaneViking says:

        I don’t have hard evidence with me, but I’m pretty sure urk said “all old features” will be returning for Reach.

        • Eternalist says:

          Goodbye life, it’s been nice knowing you. And thanks for all the fish.

  8. Fiesta says:

    Allow me to say…
    DAYYYYYYYY-UM.

  9. Gonzo says:

    this looks absolutely fantastic, when bungie said they were truly pushing the technology and pulling out all the stops they weren’t lying. Can’t wait for this game. Pumped!

  10. Fiesta says:

    So little things I noticed apart from the obvious
    Phantoms in multiplayer? Maybe they drop off players at the start of “invasion”.
    :23 New bubble shield. Looks like a loadout and it’s activated the way Master Chief does it in the first Halo 3 teaser (throws it down, crouches into it)
    The Elite at :34 may have overshield on.
    Camo is a loadout now (dunno if that was known already or not)
    New fuel rod cannon-thing at :48 has 100 ammo, each locked on shot appears to use 9 or so.
    Power Drain may be a loadout as well judging by 1:00. Not sure if that is power drain or not.
    New attack/defend gametype at 1:00 (when he fires the rocket). “Generator Destroyed!” is shown briefly before it cuts to the next clip.
    The same weapon seen at :48 may also be a new spartan laser-like weapon, judging from 1:17. Not positive if it’s the same weapon or not.

    Also, does anyone know what “Active Roster” means?

    • IcyTreats says:

      I was wondering about that.

      • xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

        could that mean players can drop in/out of an ongoing game?

        • Nelmo Nelmz says:

          I hope it means we can drop in and out of games, that would be ossum.

    • suicidalkanoka says:

      The fuel rod was originally battery. Based off the ~6 percent decrease per shot, I’d guess there are now only 16 shots per battery (0:48). It looks like a fuel rod shot without the original “lob” if you go frame by frame at 1:14, but bluer and with homing at :48. I would guess they are different, but viewing angle could cause a change in color ( :48 does have green around barrel when fired).

      The gametypes I saw (in 1st person shots) were KoTH, CTF, Slayer, Invasion, Invasion Slayer, and Headhunter.
      The Generator gametype didn’t have a name, but the C bar shrinks right after the explosion while A stayed the same length. This is the only gametype that had letters to identify teams instead of arrows. The bar length probably shows # of generators active.

      I saw a grin-aid-lawn-chair, but no raw-kit-lawn-chair. Did anyone notice one?

      • Gnome says:

        There is both a rock launcher and a Granite launcher in this video

        • InsaneViking says:

          Heh, granite launcher. They should have a ‘hand launcher’ to slap people you shoot.

        • Mike says:

          how come so many people say granite launcher!!! aaargh!!! Are they refering to something i dont know about…or are they just plain stupid?!?!?

      • TJ says:

        I saw the bar length as the generator health. C was in the red, then vanished after it blew up. A was another generator, that was perfectly fine. B was already destroyed.

    • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

      Active Roster…

      I dunno, I think it might have to do with a list of players in game.

      • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

        IGN Rewind had a good bit on it thinking you combine it with “The Arena” as a sort of rumble pit of never-ending games that you drop in and out of by your own will.

    • TJ says:

      The :23 power was a lock: http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/2585/shieldlock.png
      [img]http://img130.imageshack.us/img130/2585/shieldlock.png[/img](if the image tags work here)

      And the 1:00 power drain thing is.. the flag. Or rather I would assume, the territory/hill. Unless I’m seeing a different 1:00 than you.

      And the :48/1:17 comparison.. I see two different weapons.

      • Marksman says:

        The lock could still be a shield: It locks all other things out, and if they try and get in, BAM. Destroyed. I think it is a bubble-shield-esque AA.

        • TJ says:

          I randomly thought of this earlier: It locks his shields in place. His shields were damaged, if I remember right, and they stayed just as damaged while the ability was being used.

    • Marksman says:

      The “Power Drain” (lightning bolt symbol) is actually the Sprint. Look at 0:27. As he runs, it drains.

      • Fiesta says:

        Thanks for that.

  11. I’ve always wondered why it didn’t appear to any given player that them and their team mates were spartans, and the enemy was elites.

    I think maybe they’ve done that here.

  12. Phil says:

    zomg o.O

  13. obsidianchao says:

    … I think I’m drooling….

  14. MGH1138 says:

    Those assassinations were sweet. May 3rd has been officially marked on my calendar.

    • ComaToast says:

      It wasn’t ALREADY marked?…. get out… right now. :D

  15. xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

    I’m singing the “Jizzed in my pants” song….and changing my thong…

    • xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

      BTW, 10,000+ views on youtube in 7 hours,

      • Marksman says:

        I’d like to see the First-Day sales for Reach.

        Take THAT, MW2.

        *Fist-shaking*

  16. StuntDouble2483 says:

    Well…looks like I’ve got a reason to go Gold again…My wallet hates me.

  17. porge says:

    <3

  18. GeneralCupcakes says:

    Holy fudge muffins

  19. Panncakez says:

    This. Is. Awesome.

    …Did anyone notice that at 1:11, a message pops up saying, “Generator destroyed!” New gametype, anyone?

    • suicidalkanoka says:

      Yes. and Yes. Fiesta and I were discussing that above. Text blocks are blocky.

      I found the rock-it-lawn-chair at :28 (duh!)

      Anyone see the “Pull” medal at :25? It looks like a Pharaoh skull.
      There’s a Revenge medal at 1:21.

      Do you think adding floating text will be a new feature in Theater Mode?

    • suicidalkanoka says:

      Srry for doublepost.

      The generator kills were splatters!

      Just realized the generator was labeled c, so the bars are probably health and not # remaining.

      I was thinking “pull” was for killing someone with a hammer, but the symbol for the jetpack looks like a pharaoh hat.

      And the map shows your location (with words) like rock garden, yard, smelter entrance, atrium, C.I.C, smelter hallway, lower conduit room, C.I.C. hell, smelter skylights, high bridge, powerhouse level 2, concrete walkway, barren field, etc.

      the number before a name seems to be the # of heads being carried in headhunter.

      • Marksman says:

        I bet Headhunter is Headshots Only. Each Headshot you get, you get a skull. If you get headshotted, you lose x amount of skulls. Player with most skulls after x time/score limit wins.

        I think “Pull!” is for killing someone in Mid-Air.

        “Pull!”
        *Pigeon launched*
        *Bang, shot outta the air*
        *Pause*
        “Pull!”

  20. the blue shoe says:

    Gasp!

  21. … was that a jetpack?

    That was a fucking jetpack.

    • InsaneViking says:

      Nope, it was a bird.

      • Marksman says:

        I t was a plane…

        (finish this, someone!)

        • Wrinkly Car says:

          No its spartan man!

        • xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

          It was my weee-nah!

  22. Gnome says:

    My friend and I had mutual Nerdgasms while watching this. I think this video might count as sex in some states.

    • Marksman says:

      And countries. Here in Australia, we say Hello by saying “Halo!”.

      …Not really. But, live in hope…

    • xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

      in some states? I’m not sure how you could watch this and not start tugging on ur unit, no matter what state your in….although…a female gamer wouldn’t be tugging on it, unless her lucky gamer guyfriend was standing next to her while watching…HEY! any girl gamers want to come watch the Reach trailer with me???

      • Nuclear Pi says:

        Yeh, Im at school right now, so Im tryin to hold it in – but…

  23. xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

    I swear I’m going to have every bit of this trailer memorized by the beta…

    • Marksman says:

      And constantly referred to in your head.

      “Oh, this is the part from the trailer where…”

  24. Mike says:

    so the only things that are missing that i would think of

    1. jackal sheilds as usable items
    2. ability to lay prone on the ground while sniping at least
    3. ability to assassinate guy lying on ground and getting some kind of teabag animation :-P

    • Mike says:

      I think they only one that would work would be the jackal shields, but even that would be hard. prone would ruin the game and noone is gonna seriously put a teabag animation in the game.

  25. HellCat says:

    Halo 3’s teaser excited me more. There was too much happening in this. It felt kinda boring to be honest

  26. Billdebeast says:

    headhunter? whatever it is it looks assum.

  27. Thors toe says:

    I need a tissue. I may have made cumzzz.

    • Gi85on says:

      *passes box of extra large tissues

      Just in case

  28. Gi85on says:

    I wonder if you hover just over someone’s head while wearing the jetpack if you can set them on fire.

  29. L337MA573R says:

    Anyone else noticing that only Elites are seen rolling? And that only Spartans are seen in the arena? (read: Slayer, KoTH, CTF, etc.) And that in headhunter, enemies have numbers over their heads and there are gray waypoints?

Leave a Reply

