Zero Punctuation: Mass Effect 2

Vodpod videos no longer available.

24 Responses to Zero Punctuation: Mass Effect 2

  1. DethPwn says:

    I’m gonna LOVE ME2. And NOTHING will change that.

    Right after I hatc my own little Shepard in ME1, o’ course.

    Heh. Heh.

    • Poopie McGhee says:

      You need to just do it, Gah… lol

  2. DuracellDurrell says:

    you know, I loved Mass Effect because of the story, but like he said Bioware doesn’t get points for the story anymore. It’s a fact of life that BioWare had awesome stories.

    But i found i had to agree that the game has become to much of a shooter rather than an RPG and that the decisions were to black and white this time around. And as much as everyone hated the mako… I loved the planetary exploration, and this probing Uranus crap is just the wrong direction. Also BRING BACK MY INVENTORY DAMMIT!!! this is and RPG!! i want to sift through all the stuff.

    First time though that i have loved a game and agreed with one of his reviews so completely. ME2 is great but certainly has it’s issues

    • StuntDouble2483 says:

      Have you actually gone to Uranus in the game and probed it? If not, do so. Unique dialogue from Tricia Helfer…yay.

      • bs angel says:

        I have done that in real life. Does that count?

        • ThirdDragon says:

          O.o

    • CodeMonkey76 says:

      See, what I like about the Mass Effect series is that it isn’t just an RPG or just a shooter….it’s both. People who love shooters will think it’s too much like an RPG and those who like RPGs will think it’s too much like a shooter. As someone who likes both, I like Mass Effect just the way it is (as far as genre). Certainly there are parts of the gameplay mechanics that can be improved. Planetary scanning is high up on that list, but it’s still better than the countless hours spent driving the stupid Mako around. The inventory system is much improved, but still could do with an increase in the number of options to pick from–one where there isn’t necessarily a guaranteed better choice between two items.

      • noobzor says:

        scanning is far worse than driving the mako IMO…

        other than that the only things I don’t like the game are small annoyances- like how your squadmates can be in deep space and not wear a full bodysuit :P

        • DuracellDurrell says:

          both of these ticked me off too. you know, the fact that some never even wore a helmet annoyed me. and why didn’t my team have armour??? i missed that about ME1, i played through 6 times just so that my entire team had colossus armour…

  3. SonofMacPhisto says:

    LOL, I respect Yahtzee’s opinion, so I am a little afraid to watch this when I get home tonight. :P

    • Well, that was a very positive review. As it said at the end, ‘Will nitpick for food.’ :)

  4. i’m sorry to say i missed the ME craze, but my next purchase will definitely be either ME1 or ME2

    • SonofMacPhisto says:

      Get ME1 first, and then import that character into ME2. You’ll have a much richer experience.

      • thanks for the advice, i shall be borrowing ME1 fo sho :)

        • SonofMacPhisto says:

          Good man.

  5. ComaToast says:

    He really does put things into perspective though. You can tell that he can’t get over the fact that he likes it a bit, but won’t admit it cos apparently it’s still got some things he doesn’t like. Maybe if it had Will Smith in it he would like it more :D

  6. Thors toe says:

    I love this game. Enough said.

  7. dragnew says:

    I stand by my statement that ME2 is, while not the best game I’ve ever played, quite possibly my favourite game ever.

  8. Overdoziz says:

    Mabye I should buy ME1 and try it out. Like i did with GoW1 half a year back. Now I know I havent missed anytime by not buying GoW2 :D

    • You can get it pretty cheap now. I know Steam has good prices, especially if they’re running sales. Or if you’re looking to get it on the xbox, you can probably get a used copy for a good price.

  9. Blarg. For once I don’t want to punch Yahtzee in the face. This is a strange sensation.

    To me, Mass Effect 1 and 2 felt like different games with familiar characters. Which isn’t a bad thing, mind you. I like them both very much, other wise I wouldn’t have poured an ungodly amount of hours into the first one, and I wouldn’t be planning on doing the same for the second one.

    I do miss the planet exploring though. I just wanted them to tweak the Mako, I didn’t want them to completely remove it…. Although finding the sheerest vertical mountain on a planet and trying to navigate it to the top simply to see if you could was fun. That should have been an achievement.

    Also, side note, what the fuck happened to Liara. I know, I know, she went through tough times. I’m reading the Redemption comics. I guess it’ll make more sense after the final issue but man, she went from adorably bookish nerd to obsessive sleep-deprived bitch. :(

    I’m done now. ._.

    • SonofMacPhisto says:

      Liara’s corruption really disturbed me as well. Have to admit, but it was easy to leave her after that. :'(

      • I (fortunately or unfortunately) imported the wrong character, and happened to have a romance with her in the first game, and she sort of breaks down and opens up and you can kind of see that she’s still got a little bit of that same Liara-ness in her, dunno if you noticed that or not. But yeah man, I was kinda sad after that. I hope things sorta get back to “normal” when the third game rolls around. I’d like to have my old team back. And I’d like Kaidan to be less of a douche then.

        I also have a history of becoming way too attached to video game characters. Like Carth Onassi. But anyway. >.>

        • I’m replaying my original Shepard right now, who was with Liara. I’ll pay closer attention to that. Thanks for the tip. :)

          I don’t think you can get too attached to a character. It’s not like Garrus Vakarian is my Facebook profile picture.

          Wait, yes he is.

Leave a Reply

