2009 Best of Halo Awards Winners

2009 best of halo awards

Whether you submitted a nomination, cast one of the 13,235 total votes, or simply watched the festivities from the sidelines, your results from the 2009 Best of Halo Awards are finally in. Celebrating the passion and talent within an almost decade old community that’s still going strong, I’d like to personally thank each and every one of you that continually strives to be a positive influence in this Master Chief-obsessed group of fanatics. Now, without further ado, I’m proud to officially announce the winners of the 2009 Best of Halo Awards!

Black Spacer
biggest halo news
Biggest Halo News
Biggest Halo News Results

Many of you suffered through the abomination that was the Spike Video Game Awards show just to watch the highly anticipated world premiere of Halo: Reach. I’d like to propose that those of us who managed to stomach the experience share this award. I call codpiece!

Halo: Reach World Premiere

Black Spacer
Best Fan-Made Contribution
Best Fan-Made Contribution
Best Fan-Made Contribution Results

“Well, first of all I’d like to thank my team, who keep working dilligently to design and make all this cool stuff and who will no doubt make the most awesome fan film ever – you guys rock, without a doubt, and I couldn’t be doing this without you all. I’d like to thank all the fans who voted for Operation Chastity and who continue to support us in what we’re doing, all of our fan communities at bungie.net, halo.bungie.org, the 405th, IMDb and of course here, as well as all the other fan pockets around the internet I’ve neglected to mention – where would we be without you all? And finally, I’d like to thank Bungie and 343 Industries for providing an unending amount of content that gives us the continued inspiration to keep working hard and moving forward with the project.”

Pete Cooper

Black Spacer
Best Screenshot
Best Screenshot
Best Screenshot Results

o0JAKEOo could not be present to accept his award due to being otherwise preoccupied with pushing around virtual blocks but had he been here, surely he would have offered his thanks to his fans, Bungie, and that little ball thing that moves everything around for him.

o0JAKEOo

Black Spacer
Best Video (Single Episode)
Best Video (Single Episode)
Best Video (Single Episode) Results

Unfortunately GeneticSpartan is not here to accept his award. Something about looking for inspiration for his next machinima by laying some pipe. I’m pretty sure he would want to thank Super Mushroom if he was here though for always making him giant sized.

GeneticSpartan

Black Spacer
Best Machinima/Video (Series)
Best Machinima/Video (Series)
Best Machinima/Video (Series) Results

“First of all, we want to thank bs angel for the nomination. We are very proud to accept the award for Best Machinima Series from Hawty McBloggy. This win fulfills two of Rooster Teeth’s major corporate goals:

A) Overstaying our welcome by at least five years.
B) Crushing the dreams of younger, more talented artists. (better luck next year, sluts!)

In all seriousness, it is a humbling honor to have been a part of the Halo Community these many years and still get this kind of amazing support. We would like to thank Hawty McBloggy for the consideration, Louis Wu from HBO for his perennial work as the community cornerstone and the entire RvB audience, particularly our RT Sponsors. And it goes without saying that we owe everything to Bungie & Microsoft, whose progressive support of machinima is absolutely unparalleled in the video game industry.”

Burnie Burns

Black Spacer
Best Montage
Best Montage
Best Montage Results

Str8 Rippin was too scared to show up because they know I can kick their ass on the Halo field. Probably one of their wiser moves to be honest. It doesn’t matter anyways because they were just going to thank your mom, and they said they can do that later tonight in person.

Str8 Rippin

Black Spacer
Best New Map
Best New Map
Best New Map Results

“I always knew you liked a little sand in your box!”

Sandbox

Black Spacer
Best Social Site
Best Social Site
Best Social Site Results

“Bungie.net would like to thank the global system of interconnect computer networks, the Halo 3: ODST and Halo: Reach development teams for giving us awesome stuff to fight about online, and of course, the Bungie Community. We couldn’t have done it without you, Seventh Column. You can drop by anytime.”

urk

Black Spacer
Best Resource Website
Best Resource Website
Best Resource Website Results

“On behalf of the editors of Halopedia, I give our sincere thanks to the people who considered us as the “best resource website” for 2009. Though since anyone is allowed to contribute their work to Halopedia, you should infact be congratulating yourselves on this achievement. 2010 should be a landmark year for the wiki, as we celebrate our sixth birthday, as well as a major overhaul of articles, community projects, and other things. Hopefully, you’ll be able to join us in making Halopedia a better site for all of the community to cherish! Thank you!”

CommanderTony

Black Spacer
Best Individual Contributor
Best Individual Contributor
Best Individual Contributor Results

“I am, once again, without words to express my gratitude. You guys rock.

(Wait, those might be words…)”

Louis Wu

*A very special thank you to Halcylon for not only creating the gorgeous graphics but also for the numerous sleepless nights, none of which were even remotely related to the 2009 Best of Halo Awards. Another special thank you to Bungie for sponsoring the Awards with prizes for the winners. Less than threes all the way around.

**Congratulations to t0rm3n7 and rockin chizel, the voter/commenter winners who have both accepted their prizes!

See everybody next year! Assuming any of us can stop playing Reach long enough that is.

heart, bs angel

65 Responses to 2009 Best of Halo Awards Winners

  1. IcyTreats says:

    Congrats to all the winners!

    Oh, and as soon as Reach’s out, I’m going into hibernation.
    Only, instead of sleeping, I’m playing Reach and munching on some Cheetos :D

    • Doc says:

      just keep some napkins around, don’t want to get that cheeto grime all over your controller. While it is good to lick off the fingers, I bet it doesn’t taste as well off the controller

      • IcyTreats says:

        Good point. Will do.

      • Glasses Guy says:

        What about cherry coke?

        • Marksman says:

          Vanilla Coke. Cherry coke sucked ass.

        • bs angel says:

          Dr. Pepper. Vanilla Coke sucked ass.

        • The Real Dr Nog says:

          im on hawty’s side, coke just doesnt taste that good anymore

    • Mr Viper says:

      It seems you will be in a similar state as a friend of mine was when Left 4 Dead came out.

      “When I get my hands on this game, I’m gonna be in a cocoon of my own glee, so you better not freakin’ disturb me.”

    • Ny Hitman 0401 says:

      Pepsi? Sprite? They don’t get any love in the tub? lol I like Sprite and Mountain Dew, maybe some Coke and Pepsi, but nahhh I don’t really like Dr Pepper

  2. Sgtpierceface says:

    yay roosterteeth!!!

    • Frakjoy says:

      I find it a little hard to believe that only 584 people voted for Bungie? That’s it?!

  3. ElusiveEagle says:

    Congrats all! Thanks again angel! <3

  4. Louis Wu says:

    I THINK ALL THE WINNERS SHOULD GET REACH, TODAY

    • Pete Cooper says:

      I AM PETE COOPER AND I APPROVE THIS MESSAGE

      • Elitearbiter says:

        RAY William Johnson Style?

    • Marksman says:

      Sly… Good work.

  5. ShadowRaven says:

    Congratultutous to all the winners, or something…

    And those are some pretty sexy graphics! Keep being awesome, Halcylon!

  6. Absolute Edge says:

    Congratulations to all the winners for your dedication and contributions to the community.

  7. XMixMasterX says:

    Nice art (again) Halcylon!

    Great stuff, Angel… another great corner of the community is being developed.

  8. Bah, Str8 Rippin. -.- Oh well.

    Congrats folks.

    • What, I’m not allowed to not like Str8 Rippin? Geez.

      • I doubt they even made that montage. Probably hired somebody to do it.

        • HellCat says:

          most of it was snipes and spawn camping weve all seen

        • yeah, Zola Media did it. a “…freelance video editor from the UK who specializes in video, 3d, and graphics work.”

          and how many overkills and exterminations do you wanna see in 11 minutes anyway?

  9. OboeCrazy says:

    Congrats to all the winners!

    Ah, maybe next year Str8 Rippin, I’ll finally take you down. ;)

  10. Elnea says:

    Congratulations to all the winners (and nominees!) for great work and enthusiasm this year. Can’t wait for Reach. Woot!

  11. davyboy94 says:

    Gratz Pete! You had my vote : D

  12. Skelbrute says:

    Congrats Winners!! And to all those nominated and not, thanks for all of your awesome contributions to the Halo Community!!

  13. BerserkerBarage says:

    I think we should just start an award called “awesomeness other than Louis Wu”. Nothing can stop the juggernaut that is Wu. I’ve met him in person. And by in person, I mean, that I stood eye to knee-cap with the giant of a man. Congrats Claude.

    Congrats to the other winners. I was pulling for fellow OH-IO peep Oboe for best montage. Oh and WBLiz’s H3ITWP montage. Seriously, it had a Starship Troopers parody in the middle!! How can you not love that?

    And how the -blam! did B.net win? Seriously…have you seen the people they let hang out around there? =P

    ~B.B.

    • i agree with you BB. my vote goes to Mr. Wu by default if he’s in the running. no question.

  14. HellCat says:

    Ive got to say im not a str8rippin fan at all. Making a videogame too serious takes te fun out for me. But its good recreation and halopedia got in. Im surprised there was nothing about ODST though

  15. ComaToast says:

    Good job for the winners. RT still brings the luls when accepting awards.

    • ComaToast says:

      Sorry double post, but I wonder if they were to win some film award, I wonder what their acceptance speech would be. *drifts off into thought*.

  16. Congrats to all the winners… Thanks angel for putting this together and thanks to Halcylon for all your efforts.

    Nicely done…. OK, back to work.

  17. CGD says:

    Uhm. Why are all the other choices in the voting stats not shown?

    That’s kindah lame.

    • bs angel says:

      All of the nominees are worthy which makes the specifics beyond the winners not relevant or valuable in any way.

      • Marksman says:

        Why include them then, if they’re “Not relevant or valuable in any way”. AnSwEr M3h pl0x.

        • bs angel says:

          The numbers are not relevant, as in how many votes each nominee received, because they were all worthy of their applicable category titles. Smart ass. ;)

        • Marksman says:

          Am not!
          Wort, for lateness.

  18. DethPwn says:

    Nice, I agree with ALL of these!

  19. xLAS3RP01Nt3Rx says:

    I’ve never seen you use that heart before, Angel.

    Does That Mean You Love Us??

    • bs angel says:

      Quite possibly so. Let’s keep it between you and me though so it doesn’t tarnish my hard-earned heartless reputation. ;)

  20. StephaBon says:

    I love the Halo community

  21. Predator5791 says:

    Congratulations to this year’s winners! Loved the Optimus Prime, was the best this year no doubt. Sandbox ftw!

  22. COL0NEL SANDERS says:

    Congrats to all the winners!

    <3 all around.

    :)

  23. Atlas says:

    Such an honor to be bestowed upon the community. I’m sure a few of the winners would like to *ahem* meet with bs to thank her in person.

    Now, when will we find out who wins the big prize?

    • Atlas says:

      Oh. Nevermind. Sorry for my overwhelming ignorance.

      • bs angel says:

        No kidding. You know I freely spread the big prize. You don’t even have to be nominated to be eligible for that!

        • Atlas says:

          Your post makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time. :D(

        • bs angel says:

          Ya know, I chose the word spread because I was thinking of the phrase “spread the love”. However going back and rereading my comment, …. yeah, I could have worded that a bit better.

        • there is a lotion for that….
          um I mean … uhhhh…..

          BS angel is the coolest person in the world

  24. DeepCee says:

    Congratulations to all the winners :D

  25. I did not think I would win but I would not mind seeing how I did// what place my video got =)

    • bs angel says:

      Your video did well and your nomination was very much deserved. I can’t even count how many screenshots came from that map and how it inspired so many similar creations. You did good UrbanTwisticle. :)

  26. ConstantC4RN4GE says:

    Congrats to all, especially Bungie.net, Str8 Rippin and o0JAKEOo. Has a random voter been awarded yet? And more importantly, what was the secret prize package?! :O

    • bs angel says:

      I just updated the article to list the voter winners, thanks for the reminder. And I have no clue what they won. Bungie is dishing out the goodies from their end this year so I’m as in the dark as the rest of you!

      • ConstantC4RN4GE says:

        Thanks for the update to the OP.

        You and Halcylon kick ass as usual.

        If you find out what the prize is please let us know, I am very curious. ;)

        • bs angel says:

          I asked the winners to let me know when they receive their stuff because curiosity is getting the better of me as well!

        • ConstantC4RN4GE says:

          Any word on the secret prizes yet? Still curious lol.

        • bs angel says:

          Haven’t heard anything yet. Whatever they got, hopefully it’s urk’s urine-free!

        • t0rm3n7 says:

          so that’s why it was wet…

        • ConstantC4RN4GE says:

          One last try… did we find out what they won?

          Also, now with the ViDoc and Multiplayer trailer, Reach looks better than ever!!! Definite possible winner for the end of this year too! :D

        • bs angel says:

          I got a few reports of super awesome Reach t-shirts not available to the rest of us. If there was anything beyond that, I’m not sure. One winner was convinced it would help him pick up chicks at parties, I do remember that much!

  27. firestream says:

    A big congrats to all of the winners!

    I’m curious to how much HC Redemption and I split the votes, lol.

  28. SonofMacPhisto says:

    Cause I’m totally awesome, I just noticed this today. Also, did you guys hear about the Winter Olympics? They’re in Canada this year! Das Kalk will be so pleased.

    (Congrats to all the winners.)

Leave a Reply

