A Halo Quilt Fit for the King of Your Hill

The mere thought of Master Chief is enough to keep me warm all night long, but apparently Slick WillyQ does not have an imagination nearly as active as mine as he requires the assistance of a blanket or two during the colder evening hours. His wife, well aware of the chilliness of his appendages, decided to make a quilt this year for his annual Christmas gift. Incorporating an overall theme featuring his favorite video game, she took 20 of his Halo 3 screenshots, several squares of fabric, and a needle and some thread and proceeded to create a quilt perfect for any and all members of blue team. Close-ups of what you’re missing are patiently awaiting your arrival after the jump. And I mean the quilt, not the wife! Patiently awaiting should have been your first clue to that.

Halo Quilt

Halo Quilt

spacer

Halo Quilt

spacer

Halo Quilt

spacer

Halo Quilt

*Images posted with permission.

29 Responses to A Halo Quilt Fit for the King of Your Hill

  1. cardo says:

    Wow. I’d definitley lay that on my codpiece. Great job, wifey!

  2. Glasses Guy says:

    Some of the Pics are a little blury, but overall, this is one frick’n sweet quilt.

  3. MGH1138 says:

    I’d cuddle up with that.

  4. Socket says:

    Um. Why is the name done in Call of Duty MW style? That kinda doesn’t match.

    • Maybe that’s a signature picture he has for a forum or something.

      • Slick WillyQ says:

        Yeah that’s my forum signature.

  5. suicidalkanoka says:

    That’s awesome. Though I’m not a fan of the letterboxing, I see that the goal was keeping the pics in their original dimensions.

    • bs angel says:

      I would have preferred a complete border with the shots all being the same dimension for uniformity purposes but I’m sure that would have complicated the process. It’s still great. :)

      • Slick WillyQ says:

        The reason it has the letterbox is because my wife had to use light fabric transfer paper. If you put it on dark fabric it wouldn’t show up that well. She did use dark fabric transfer paper for some of the medals and such, but it costs twice as much and she had to sew it on instead of iron it on. So it was worse quality than the light transfer paper. Just some FYI for those that want to try something like this. Go with the light transfer paper. :-) Glad you all like as much as I do. :-)

        • suicidalkanoka says:

          My point and I think Hawty’s as well was that the whitespace is not uniform around the image.
          I was thinking that the whitespace above and below the screenshots (effectively a letterbox effect) is distracting, and could be removed, since the whitespace is not consistent from shot to shot (due to the differing sizes of the shots) and since white is not a part of the background fabric. I believe Hawty was suggesting that instead of removing the whitespace, additional whitespace could have been added on the sides as pillarboxes to create a windowbox effect for contrast between the background and image; effectively a wide line effect to emphasize the screenshots.
          The method of achieving either appearance would have been editing the shots by cropping, resizing, or both, which may have changed the output quality. I don’t sew much myself, so I can’t tell if the image squares are sewn ontop of the background or into it, but I think they’re ontop, which would make it easier to simply apply the image to either a larger piece of cloth or cut the whitespace off before sewing the image on.

          Anyhow, this response was just because I didn’t see the link between letterboxing and the type of fabric paper. Despite my critique, I still think the quilt is awesome, and am not trying to diminish it with my text block. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

        • Marksman says:

          ^^…
          How can I follow up after a post like that??

  6. I like the medals in between the pictures. Overall though it’s awesome.

  7. Darthspleen80 says:

    Wow, thats fragging sweet. Your one lucky man to have a wife that cool.

  8. DethPwn says:

    Seems like the paper would be uncomfortable.

    Still cool, though!

    • Slick WillyQ says:

      Hey! This is actually his wife, the one who made the quilt. It’s not paper, it’s an iron-on transfer. You print the pictures on paper and transfer them to fabric. Thanks, by the way.

      • DethPwn says:

        You know, I saw my post right after posting it, and I knew it was downright stupid.

        • Marksman says:

          Happens to me all the time. Makes me wish for an “edit” button.

  9. will says:

    Wish you had mass perduced them to sell to people i would so buy one i want that so bad lol

  10. will says:

    lol hey i want to know if you reply back so reply on here so my email is notified

    • Slick WillyQ says:

      I wish I could get money from my wife’s halo quilt-making skills, but alas Halo 3 is copyrighted and so we can’t get money from their idea. If you wanted it without anything to do with Halo maybe we can work something out. :-) jk

  11. Genuine says:

    Duuuude, that’s a true wifey that understands…I hope my spouse will be as cool as that…Even if it is the husband that makes me the blanket

  12. Marksman says:

    Wow, in revision, weeks later, I just got the title.

    …ew.

    • bs angel says:

      LOL … better late than never!

      • IcyTreats says:

        Lucky you, I STILL don’t get it :/

        • Marksman says:

          Thing of relations. Who rules your hill?

          It’s a sex thing. Expect nothing less from good ‘ole Hawty McBloggy.

        • bs angel says:

          There’s a little hint in the “Be Vocal” paragraph of this article:

          http://hawtymcbloggy.com/2008/10/15/spend-some-time-in-my-hill/

          :giggles:

        • Marksman says:

          *sigh*

          You even provide a link…

        • Marksman says:

          Be vocal
          The success of a team is often directly proportional to how well they work together, and part of working together is having a strong leader. Just as you shouldn’t be afraid to lead the team on the virtual battlefield, you shouldn’t fear letting your wishes known with your partner either. If you want something, the easiest route to getting it is just asking for it. Beating around the bush doesn’t do a whole lot of good, both figuratively and literally. If your long barrel needs polishing, make that known. Just make sure you spend some time in her hill as well.
          There you go.

  13. Pingback: When Craftiness and Gaming Collide « Gamerwife: Supporting N00b Pwnage Since 2006

Leave a Reply

