Copper Chief

Copper Master Chief

What do Master Chief and the metal copper have in common? In their purest forms they’re both soft and easily worked with a surface that turns pinkish in color when freshly-exposed. That’s why abstract artist gigaguy123’s latest project, which involved the melding of the two, makes perfect sense. Starting with a pristine copper sheet, he pressed out a preselected design and then stained it until it bore more than a slight resemblance to our favorite Spartan supersoldier. The standard Halo 2 pose is a bit tired and true in my opinion but the art of manipulating something until it is hard and beautiful is something I will always appreciate, and this piece is no exception.

*Image posted with permission; mental pictures now placed in your heads, not so much.

21 Responses to Copper Chief

  1. Not-so-subtle innuendo aside ( :p ), this is a pretty cool idea. Unfortunately, shop class has made me terrified of metalworking, so that makes this even more cool. Kudos to him.

    • Wasiq says:

      Welcome back to another episode of…HOW MANY SEXUAL PUNS CAN BS ANGEL FIT INTO ONE ARTICLE!

      *Audience LOLZ go here*

  2. Crazy A 64 says:

    1. Very impressive copper work! Although I too have often wondered about said pose, never been a favorite of mine. Ho-hum, to each his own!
    2. Glad to see you’ve finally embraced the new disclaimer ;)
    3. I’m back! Sorry, think I actually died for a while there… O_o
    4. Tee hee, not so subtle references to the penis.

  3. xxxJL AUDIOxxx says:

    I doubt its “easily worked”, wouldn’t a super Spartan need a super Handy J?

  4. Marksman says:

    rgh, so many penis references… My head hurts.
    If I ignore the dick-innuendo-filled article, I’d agree that the copper work is great, considering I don’t know how to do it. Meh, maybe somethnig to learn over Christmas.

    Nah, I always manage to hurt myself metalworking… I’ll pretend to learn it.

    • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

      Must not picture in my mind-must not picture in my mind-must not picture in my-AAAHHH! *asplodes*

      *giggles*

  5. ReverendTiki says:

    I remeber when we did something like that in art class. Mine sucked though.

    • Staticrift says:

      I hope you mean the metal work ;D

      • bs angel says:

        LOL … I hope he doesn’t.

        • ReverendTiki says:

          u can think whatever u want, but angel knows what im talking about

  6. XMixMasterX says:

    That’s really cool looking..

    Just don’t get it wet!

    • Skeah says:

      “Just don’t get it wet.”

      *fails to resist an all-too-easy…*
      …that’s what she said.

      • augustelc says:

        yes. yes it is.

  7. Mr Poe says:

    OMG, that is awesome. lol

  8. Ray says:

    Looks great!
    Why does your website have dandruff? LOL

    • UnluckyIrish14 says:

      Someone forgot their Head & Shoulders at the Chief’s house last night.

      I mean, uh…look! A copper Chief!

  9. DethPwn says:

    I did something like this with the COG Symbol and metal embossment. Nice!

    • bs angel says:

      How did it turn out?

      • DethPwn says:

        Pretty well, actually. The only problem was the teeth, but even that was done fairly well.

  10. Dan says:

    that…is…AWSOME…though yes, i am a lil over the H2 pose…but still…AWSOME!

  11. HellCat says:

    Master Chief and hard (metal?) stuff go well together in my opinion. I havent worked with copper but i have worked with pewter.

Leave a Reply

