Pets for Your Xbox 360 Avatar

Avatar Pets

Xbox 360 avatars know little beyond solitude. Besides being pulled into the occasional Arcade game, they lead an existence void of companionship. You can play dress up with them and teach them to burpbox but as the day turns into night and your console goes into shutdown mode, they are left to aimlessly wander the pitch black halls of the Dashboard until you are kind enough to grace them with your presence once again. All of that changes tomorrow though with the release of Avatar Pets. Costing 240Microsoft Points apiece, a large dog, a pug dog, a dog in bag, a cat, a Siamese cat, a long haired cat, a goldfish, a guinea pig, a monkey, a bird, a snake, and a pony will all be available for manhandling by your not so gentle virtual self. Until the dog comes with a jar of peanut butter or the snake is of the rare hooded trouser variety though, you can color me unimpressed.

28 Responses to Pets for Your Xbox 360 Avatar

  1. IcyTreats says:

    The snake looks like it’s about to nail him in the happy sacks :)

  2. Ash says:

    Seriously, this is a fad I’ll never understand. People pay money for this? Even the clothes for your avatars confused me, until they became unlockable rewards, but this…*shakes head*. (PS…personal opinion, here…no crucification, please…my arms get tired every time I’m nailed up there.)

    • bs angel says:

      I haven’t ever purchased anything for my avatar, nor do I plan on it. I simply don’t have it in me to pay actual money for fake clothes and accessories. I’m not knocking those who do, but it’s simply not for me.

      • Ash says:

        It’s like buying an ice cream for my imaginary friend…only less tasty.

        • Mizzy says:

          I would say it’s more “giving it to the imaginary friend and watching the cone hit the ground”.

  3. Ben Of Bodom UK says:

    The day avatars get ‘hooded trouser snakes’ is the day I sell my 360 and buy a Wii.

    • IcyTreats says:

      OO-RAH!

  4. Crazeye0 says:

    I’d rather have the rest of the Recon armour in red to match my helmet. Only then would I consider spending points for it, but it would still be highly unlikely that I would do so.

  5. TTL Dren says:

    I will admit paying for some things for my little virtual me. Yet I would feel better about it if there was more to do with these Bit friends. We need a few games where we can play as them. These pets though, I don’t see the draw. I mean all they do is a little animation and that’s it. Where is the interaction?

    • bs angel says:

      You bring up good points. I can see a simple sims game being fun with these pets but if it’s something with strict preprogrammed actions that don’t allow for responsive movement, I see little to no value in that.

  6. Poopie McGhee says:

    I’m getting one from some FF13 thing… I think…

  7. I think I’ll stick to my real cats and dogs. Until they come out with something awesome like a pet zergling (or Kerrigan on a leash, but that’ll never happen), I’ll save my points for a rainy day.

  8. Cardo says:

    This whole dashboard persona is avatarded. I’d like to see the sales numbers on these things.

    • IcyTreats says:

      Excuse me, but I shall use that phrase from now on. It sounds…

      :D

      • Cardo says:

        Absolutely, hope ya do!

  9. GeneralCupcakes says:

    OMG A PUG.

  10. PikminGod says:

    the monitor is the only pet i need

    also they’d be a better deal if they made noise, or if your pet interacted with others in your party

    • You know, the only thing better than one floating ball around your face is…….a pair of balls floating around your face! Duh!

  11. Stryder says:

    I will take the free stuff, but I’m not paying. Also, I don’t think that is the heavy petting my avatar would have in mind.

  12. Captain Spark says:

    Paying to dress up my “iAvatar” is a waste of money for me. If I could, I would flame-grenade the little bastard and watch him cook :)

  13. DethPwn says:

    Dog… or Optimus Prime hemet? …

    TRANSFORM AND ROLL OUT!

  14. StuntDouble2483 says:

    I want a Nug, one of those “c-oo-te bunny pigs” from Dragon Age. Or maybe a Mogwai. Mogwai are awesome, until they try to chew your face off, anyway.

    • That would be worth it.

  15. Mike says:

    pet flood… i want a pet flood infection form! :-P

    and by want… i mean would like to unlock as an avatar award and not actually go out an purchase it

  16. A Deaf Boy says:

    I don’t get any of the props. The only time you see them is for the split second when you sign in to LIVE.

    Am i right, or am I missing something?

  17. Mr Viper says:

    I have a feeling this is Microsoft slowly progressing towards a 360 version of Home. If it imitates Home well, it’ll be another useless console addition to ignore.

  18. FoxmanFX says:

    Why pay for a pet when you can get one for free ;)

    Final Fantasy XIII chocobo Avatar item – twitter users tweeted enough to unlock it – sign up and get it free ;)

    http://www.xbox.com/en-GB/games/splash/f/finalfantasyXIII/default.htm

    And yer welcome!

    • suicidalkanoka says:

      US region can change “en-GB” to”en-US” in the above link to get the promotion.

Leave a Reply

