Halloween Special: Top 10 Scariest Games

27 Responses to Halloween Special: Top 10 Scariest Games

  1. daredizzle says:

    I didnt think Fatal Frame was going to be on there. Me and friends used to play that back in the day on OG Xbox in the dark in the middle of the night and there were times we had to stop playing because of some of the scenes or gameplay. Terrifying. Haven’t played any of the other ones but I’ll be checking them out.

    • Mizzy says:

      I’ve been REALLY wanting to play Fatal Frame, but it seem I’m too pussed to even get it.

  2. StuntDouble2483 says:

    No Eternal Darkness, or Dark Corners of the Earth? Lovecraft FTW.

    Good call on number one…Fatal Frame freaked me out.

    As for Doom 3, I don’t know if its because I was a kid when I played it, but I thought Doom 64 was way scarier than 3…something about the ambient soundtrack to that game got to me.

    • InsaneViking says:

      Eternal Darkness is in my top 5 favorite games! I don’t think it’s scary in the same way, though. You know, except for the bathroom scene.

      Tomorrow my roommate and I are going to play through the first Condemned game again. I recommend it to everyone, especially now that it’s probably in all bargain bins.

      • $10 @ GameStop… (It’s a good game)

  3. bs angel says:

    Loved Dead Space. In my opinion it’s the scariest game in the Xbox 360 library thus far. I also would have considered throwing Condemned on the list.

    • Dead Space was crazy… it was specially engineered that way from the OST to the A.I. (they follow you untill you turn around)… I can’t even get through Condemned…
      BTW: Halo: Waypoint is out (on the preview)

      • DuracellDurrell says:

        I certainly agree that Dead Space ranks up there, but i fell FEAR ranks up there too. it was equally well engineered on the psychological level. those are the only two games that have ever scared me enough to turn the game off for a bit…

      • Poopie McGhee says:

        Good Point…

  4. PikminGod says:

    Eternal Darkness should definatly been on there instead of AVP but i do agree with the Fatal Frame series being skary

    • StuntDouble2483 says:

      I don’t know about AvP…but that Clive Barker game looked pretty lame.

      • B-Dawg 99 says:

        Clive Barkers Undying isnt scary at first but buddy wait tell you hit about the 3rd level you will be scared shitless trust me theirs a reason they put that game in.

  5. I’m surprised FEAR 2 was offered up instead of the original FEAR. Personally I found the first one to be scarier. I nearly pissed myself when I played that. The second one made me yelp and gave me the creeps, but not as much. :/

    I’ve always wanted to play some Silent Hill and Fatal Frame though, those games look sick (both good and ew).

    • The series…

    • Poopie McGhee says:

      …Is what they were refering to.

      • Ah, ok. I was watching it in school so I had the volume turned off and I had to occasionally minimize. >.>

  6. F8l ERROR says:

    doom 3 was better in my opinion.

  7. Willy says:

    I agree with Silent Hill and Resident Evil.

    I stopped playing Silent Hill 2 cause it was so scary then again I was fairly young at the time as well.

    As for Resident Evil it was scary but only for a split second when dogs would jump through windows. Or my favorite thing about the series was getting my adrenaline pumping because I was being chased by Nemesis.

  8. ElusiveEagle says:

    I definitely loved seeing Dead Space up there! It was so much fun! I would personally say it’s the scariest, but I’m sure all of those top ten are pretty scary.

  9. IcyTreats says:

    Did anyone notice a random pumpkin with the number 35 on it?

    • bs angel says:

      I saw that too. I’m guessing Machinima is doing some sort of a search-type contest. Otherwise, I couldn’t find a rhyme or a reason to it.

  10. SonofMacPhisto says:

    We don’t go to Ravenholm.

  11. NartFOpc says:

    As several other have already said, Eternal Darkness should have been on this list. Others I can think of:

    Clock Tower series
    Eversion (freeware on the PC, google it, I definitely recommend it. Be warned though, it is creepy as F*&^)
    Killing Floor (a more serious Left 4 Dead)
    Parasite Eve series
    Penumbra series
    S.T.A.L.K.E.R Shadow of Chernobyl
    System Shock 2

    Not all of these are necessarily scary enough to make a top 10 list, but they are all great games if you’re looking for something to play this Halloween

    • Fiesta says:

      System Shock 2 is really scary to me, but then again i had to take bioshock back (at first) because it scared me too much…

  12. DethPwn says:

    Don’t wanna rant, but let me explain:

    Dead Space is startling, Silent Hill is scary.

    Scary isn’t being afraid for a mere second, Scary is that feeling of utter loneliness as the thought of harm or death slowly creeps closer and closer into your head. Startling can be a squirrel jumping out of a tree, or a half-assed effect popping up out of nowhere. (Lookin’ at you, The Grudge!) For this I believe Silent Hill is scarier, as it delivers on true fear, unlike creepy things going blargh.

    As for number 1, I had no idea what it was or what was going on.

    • Poopie McGhee says:

      Great point… Both are fun though… Something similar, http://www.escapistmagazine.com/articles/view/columns/experienced-points/6715-You-Dont-Scare-Me. (it’s explaining the difference between Survival and Horror)

  13. sfisk0 says:

    what no bioshock? it should have been up there

Leave a Reply

