First Look at Halo Waypoint

Halo Waypoint, the soon to be hub for anything and everything Halo-related, is officially coming to Xbox Live on November 5th. Produced by 343 Industries, it is expected to feature newsy bits along with a spattering of community-generated content as well. This new dashboard destination is also planning on the introduction of a brand new career system which will span multiple Halo titles, at launch including Halo 3: ODST, Halo 3, and Halo Wars. This video, Welcome To Halo Waypoint, gives a guided walkthrough of the basic interface and a few of the features soon to be available to Gold-subscribing Halo fanatics everywhere. Interested? Not interested? Still on the fence? Sound off in the comments!

57 Responses to First Look at Halo Waypoint

  1. Xerone says:

    So they’re just enticing me more to get Halo achievements…

    • sleepingdragon80 says:

      Dont have to try to hard to get me to get more :)

  2. CrazyKinux says:

    Sweet looking service they’re building there!

  3. Kraken says:

    I’m definitely interested in this, even though I only have Halo 2 and 3.

  4. XMixMasterX says:

    Awesome.. but I still don’t know what to think.

    Does M$ really think they can emulate the Bungie community? What kind of user-submitted content would be a replacement for Louis Wu and the B.net front page?

    I think the community has most of this stuff down without a Waypoint to get us there…

    • Kensai111 says:

      In a sense this is run by Bungie, a majority of the Halo Waypoint crew is 343.

      Cheers,
      Kensai

      • bs angel says:

        343 is Microsoft, not Bungie. There is a big difference between the two in my eyes.

        • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

          Oh yes, Huge difference.

        • IcyTreats says:

          i agree. they’re probably just going to milk the series till 2010 :'(

        • JohnKiller118 says:

          Yeah. One’s awesome, and the other steals other people’s creations to make a profit.

  5. Ben Of Bodom UK says:

    This thing’s free right? It’s gonna be like part of the dashboard or something?

    • bs angel says:

      It’s going to be free to Gold subscribers (with silver accounts getting a peak when it launches) and it will be on the dashboard somewhere, yes. Where exactly though, I have no clue! :)

      • Xerone says:

        I really hope it doesn’t clutter the dash up more than it is. My dash seems to be so cluttered, sometimes it takes a while to get somewhere. I wish I could have a custom one set up.

        I’d have – Netflix – Profile – Settings

        It’d be so nice…

        • Man, that custom Idea would be nice…

        • Shirdel7221 says:

          No, because only America has Netflix. What about the Rest of The World Damnit?

        • James says:

          Custom dashboards should be in next update tbf
          esp if there is twitter and facebook coming its gunna get too busy, i find it a bit tough to find stuff since the nxe, the old dashboard made more sense!

          You know what would be real nice though, a web browser!

        • Marksman says:

          @Shirdel
          You’re right. I’m Australian, and we don’t get Netflix. ‘S’not Fair!

      • ElusiveEagle says:

        It will be located in the “Games Marketplace > Games on Demand” section, as said in the video.

        • bs angel says:

          Oh great Elusive, way to show everybody I totally wasn’t paying attention!! :chair:

      • Ben Of Bodom UK says:

        Cool thanks Angel!

  6. SoC BrownSound says:

    Now that’s awesome!

  7. KalamariKidd says:

    Hmm, I wonder if Waypoint is giving us a glimpse of some of the features and elements that Reach might have.

    • Xerone says:

      I’m really really looking forward to Reach. ^_^ If it does, I’ll be right on that!

      • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

        I highly doubt Bungie’s gonna tell Microsoft about their new best game evar.

      • BSlaughts says:

        Does anyone know when the reach multiplayer beta comes out…iv went to the website listed on my ODST pre order flyer thing but i cant seem to find it…

        • angerhrr says:

          The Reach Beta didn’t come packaged with the game as it hasn’t been created yet. The Beta will be accessible from the Halo ODST Extra’s menu next year.

  8. pittofdoom says:

    This looks pretty awesome. If only I had XBL…

  9. Mizzy says:

    If only it mentioned a rough estimate as to when the darn thing is going to be released!

    • Xerone says:

      I think it is November 5th…

      • Shirdel7221 says:

        Or Guy Fawke’s Night in the UK.

  10. xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

    This looks really cool.
    All they need to add are voice chat rooms.

    • Marksman says:

      …And crack labs.
      …Wait, forget I said that!

  11. Crazeye0 says:

    Not looking forward to this.
    If I want user submitted content I’d check out Bungie.Net or Forgehub or somewhere like that. If I wanted Halo news I’d check the weekly updates.

    I just feel this entire service sounds pointless. If it’s only available through MS Points then Its probably so microsoft can has your money. The content might not be aailable anywhere else, that is, until people manage to get it on Youtube or somewhere. Unless I hear anything good about it when it actualy comes out then I probably wont get it.

    • xLAS3RP01NT3Rx says:

      Its free as far as I know.
      Bungie.net and Forgehub aren’t going anywhere either.
      This is just an organized Halo Universe Service Record.
      Nothing else is changing.

  12. Weezey31 says:

    I’m guessing the Halo Legends sections is going to be streaming on demand? It would be good if they made it free because then I would watch it, but it is MS so nothing is ever free. : (

  13. PikminGod says:

    i think this is a test thing, and soon enough every franchise will start boasting their own “Waypoint” system…somethings like the “Guitar Hero Studio” or the “Modern Warfare FOB” and they will start costing money too. They talk about expanding Waypoint, but what they don’t mention is that these expansions will probably cost monies. They get you hooked with the freeness but make you pay for the lickies and chewies… that said, my Avatar is currently sporting some ODST armor…i know, i suck.

    • Marksman says:

      How do you get the Avatar Awards? I’ve done some of the needed achievements, but I haven’t got the corresponding armour. Sadface.

  14. tyalka93 says:

    They just had to throw in the Gold only bit, didn’t they?

    • HellCat says:

      then get it

  15. SonofMacPhisto says:

    This looks real sharp. I’m excited to see it in action! :D

  16. So is this a US only thing? or something the rest of the world can enjoy(it may or may not be enjoyable). cos here in Aus we always seem to get left out of a lot of things.

    • bs angel says:

      The only thing I could find in the press release is the phrase “fans around the world”. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it’s not a region-specific thing.

      • Shirdel7221 says:

        Even though you do live in America XD.
        If Halo Waypoint is America-Only, I would gladly trade it for X360’s UK-Only Twitter.

        • IcyTreats says:

          I’m in Saudi Arabia, I dont get anything.. (but the satisfaction of knowing that single light on the h3 world players map is me!)

        • bs angel says:

          I’ve always wondered who that person was!!

    • Marksman says:

      “cos here in Aus we always seem to get left out of a lot of things.”
      *cough*Netflix*cough**cough**splutter*

  17. Scott says:

    I cant wait it looks really cool. Just one more thing to help me get my Halo fix! haha

  18. DethPwn says:

    I would say something about Halo turning into Star Wars, but I’m too busy watchiong a Borderlands trailer in the other tab.

    • I just peeled myself off my chair from playing that… (It’s F’ing Awesome)

  19. Cardo says:

    Seems like an advertising mechanism disguised as an achievment tracker. Might be a little entertaining but for the most part I’m disappointed.

    I hate how when I sign in the dashboard I’m auto-directed to the line with the advertisements, rather than My Xbox..

    • HellCat says:

      agreed

    • Marksman says:

      F@$#ing spotlight.

      …Btw, is swearing acceptable here, or should I use crappy censors^?

      • bs angel says:

        Definitely censors. Like this:

        Fuckin* spotlight.

        See, it’s so easy!

        • Marksman says:

          Yay!
          Fuc* the Fuckin* Censors! XDXDXD

        • Poopie McGhee says:

          Tee-Hee

  20. DTA MoonDawg says:

    It looks pretty cool I think… I love the little medal award idea, but the fact that this isn’t being made by all of the Bungie crew has me a little undecided.

    Is Bungie helping at ALL with this?

  21. Pingback: Halo Legends – The Duel Today Only « Hawty McBloggy Invites You to Play

Leave a Reply

