Zero Punctuation: Dead Space

zero punctuation dead space

19 Responses to Zero Punctuation: Dead Space

  1. DeepCee says:

    Oh yeah he did :)
    But wait…does it have spoilers? I know the final boss fight anyway. But other than that..

  2. bs angel says:

    Minor (really, really minor) spoilers from the earlier part of the game.

  3. DeepCee says:

    Yeah I knew about that first boss fight. Hilarious as always that Yahtzee.
    But hey…you can’t expect planet crackers to have fancy decor

  4. davyboy94 says:

    this is werid i watched this today O.o , i love this guys reviews hes hilarious , check out his oblivion and phantom hour glass reviews

  5. Aperture S says:

    I often agree on his reviews but I got to disagree on this one.

    I think the game is fantastic. Currently I’m in the middle of Chapter 3 :)

  6. mendicantbias00 says:

    @ Aperture S

    LOL He almost never has anything good to say about any game. Take everything with a jar of salt. ;)

    I thought it was hilarious and I agree with him in the quarantine system. :D

    But I freakin love Dead Space!

  7. Man I love this guys reviews. Even though he rips on practically every game he reviews, he makes it funny and entertaining to watch. :)

  8. Jillybean says:

    Mendicant – watch his Prince of Persia reviews :)

    I still cannot bring myself to play this game. The thought of it scares the crap out of me

  9. Ken Raves says:

    Sad but true.I got on chapter “D-2” this morning.

  10. Das says:

    this was funny, although nitpicky. But as Mendicant said, take it with a jar of salt… I wonder if anyone has ever reviewed HIS games…

  11. bs angel says:

    I pretty much feel the exact opposite that he does. The things he didn’t like were my favorite parts of the game. The things he did like were my least favorite parts of the game. I take his reviews as entertainment with a spattering of truth.

  12. Ken Raves says:

    I like some of his opioins but dislike others, like his views on GTA IV. I get to review Dead Space for my school newletter so this was kinda of a good idea of what people may be expecting me to say about this game.

  13. Nid says:

    This guy is awesome, despite his views of Halo and FPS’ and in general. Loved his SSB review.

  14. Ragingterror says:

    Accurate or not… Zero Punctuation is some funny stuff.

  15. mendicantbias00 says:

    @ Jillybean

    I loved Sands of Time but never got to play any of the others. That was awesome though, especially the bit about the pudding! ;) :D

  16. Jillybean says:

    I adore Yahzee. I adored him even more after the PoP reviews. It’s like he’s in my head. He even referenced Annika Rice.

  17. DeepCee says:

    Sands of Time, Silent Hill2 and I think Portal are in his “Best of all Time” collection.

  18. BBJynne says:

    This man is horrid.

    He is the worst kind of critic (except that he’s funny)
    All he does is bash games constantly and throw in one or two things that he sorta likes about it.

    He should just NOT play them if he hates so much.
    (plus he didn’t like every game that I like)

  19. Rift says:

    BBJynne,

    … this is going to sound mean… but he’s a critic. That’s what a critic is suppose to do. They critique things. That means pointing out all the bad things, where the good things are nice coincidenses. Yahtzee assumes every game is going to suck before he plays them so that he knows ahead of time that if they do, he’s not surprised. Sure, it gives him a bias turn towards pointing out as many bad things as possible, but after reading reviews of GTA IV, and what all the great things were about the game, then playing it myself, I couldn’t agree with a single reviewer at all…. even Yahtzee. The game sucked. And not the normal kind of suck, the kind where you actually got worse from previous games, and he even points some of this stuff out in his Saints Row 2 review.

    Yahtzee is someone who wants to be motivated, who wants to be engrossed, and who wants to have fun with a game that isn’t too easy or too hard. And most of all, he want to PLAY a game. He does not like cut-scenes at all, and he esspecially doesn’t like cut-scenes where the game is doing something you very obviously could have been doing. When he looks at a game, he looks at it like; “Where have I seen this before? Why should I not spend $60 on this? What makes this game any better than other games I’ve played?”

    No matter how much you don’t like a review he has, you should at least respect it. He does a damn better job than these other retards giving out 10s and 9s like every game is awesome and worth your time and money… even though the game is exactly like another game, just not as good, or even though the game can be beaten in 8 hours… then it’s over… or even though mechanics of the game other than the single player game are completely retarded and just waste time and are unfun (like GTA IV), including multiplayer. If you want to know whether or not you like the game, and you want a review to trust, watch a Yahtzee review, weigh up the pros to the cons, and then see what you want to do… unless you’re already going to buy the game, then dive right in, you don’t need these guys to give you your own damn opinions, come up with those on your own. You don’t need a review to either ramp you up so much about a game you think its gold or to completely burn the game and make you think that you might be wrong, or even anything in between. Anyone here remember the X-Play review of Crisis Core? Yeah, kinda like that. Go check Google Video for their response to that review, it’s great.

Leave a Reply

