My Secret Life as a Female Gamer

I am a gamer.

I am not a male. I am not a teenager. I am not on the verge of a killing spree. At least not in real life. On the virtual battlefield, well that is a different story.

How do you know I am a gamer?

  • If I hear an awesome guitar riff on the radio the first thing I think is, “I could rock this song on expert mode in Guitar Hero.”
  • This shirt is the most well worn one in my closet.
  • When watching a pack of animals strategically hunting their prey on a recent episode of Planet Earth, I immediately revised it into a Halo offensive maneuver.
  • I can devise DDR dances to songs on the radio while I am cooking dinner.
  • I wonder why my achievements in real life don’t come with a point value.

I just finished cleaning the bathroom!

WTF?! Only 20 points for that, even with all that urine around the toilet?!

I am 31 year old married woman with three children. By day, I wear several hats. I clean, I cook, I do laundry, I volunteer in my children’s classrooms, I do everything a proper woman and wife should do. By night however, nobody from real life would recognize me. I am too busy pwning noobs.

This blog will show my life as a gamer. My experiences, my reviews of games, my favorite gamer comics, the gaming events I attend, anything and everything gaming that strikes my fancy. Why don’t you join me? I promise you will have more fun playing with me than you would playing with yourself.

gamercard

61 Responses to My Secret Life as a Female Gamer

  1. Xeos Celeres says:

    Welcome to the world of blogging =) Always nice to have more gamers around, especially casual gamers =)

  2. Fezzer says:

    Always a pleasure to game with you bs.

    Games really do become a part of everyday experiences. I’m always catching myself thinking about strategies in Halo when I should be taking notes in class!

    You are a lady of many talents. I hope you never get tired of wearing the gamer hat.

  3. TTL PiNk says:

    You rock! I love the fact that you think cleaning the bathroom should unlock achievements! I wholeheartedly agree! Not enough achievements IRL – Your blog is great! Nicely written and wonderful with the pictures! Can’t be all boring text – always have to look at the pictures!
    Keep up the awesome work!

  4. Stuicide says:

    I love it!

    I heard some songs on the radio the other day that made me start thinking about the buttons on Guitar Hero.

    You’re not only a gamer, you’re a leader, a friend, a camper, and so much more.

  5. W00t for the gamer mom.

    I know I’m still going to be a gamer when I’m 30.
    Maybe my girlfriend (wife by then, hopefully) will be one, too…
    We shall see.

  6. Burritoh says:

    You’re the best angel!

    But I’m still going to match your gamerscore.

  7. Quantifier says:

    Hey angel, just wanted to stop by, say ‘Hi” and lend my support. I look forward to following your blog!

  8. Cayote says:

    I love you bs! I have loved reading your blog tonight!

  9. silvercube says:

    Just thought I’d post a comment on your first bloggie article.
    You are doing a wonderful job angel : )

  10. Jim 028 says:

    Did you ever think when you wrote this article that fifteen months later you would have reached three million hits.
    I wish i could say I was here from the beginning, I wasn’t but I have enjoyed your writings, and your team chat, so much I will definitely be here for the next three million.
    Congratulations on this blog, and all the best for your future work.

  11. bs angel says:

    You found my very first post!

    No, I never thought things would turn out the way they have. When I started this site, I didn’t have any goals other than to have fun. Sometimes I think this blog has a mind of its own and is following a destined path and I’m just along for the ride. I have loved every second of it, and I’m just thankful other people have as well.

    :)

  12. AmX15 says:

    I love following your blog.

  13. davyboy94 says:

    FIRST POST! crap im a year late -_-

  14. Waffle Deluxe says:

    Haha my attempt to get one more post for my chance at the Mythic Map Pack

  15. GeneralCupcakes says:

    Clean litter box, toilets, sinks, and mirrors!

    ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED

  16. Waffle Deluxe says:

    Say What?

  17. Deadlock says:

    Oh my god, I found teh first post! Win!

  18. Mr Viper says:

    Always interesting to see how a person started off. Like many others, for me your site has become the next interwebs stop after Bungle.net. Keep it up!

    • bs angel says:

      Aaawww, thanks!!

      • GeneralCupcakes says:

        OMG First. oh wait, people all ready found it, oh wait i found it again. nvm.

  19. Don A K Bab says:

    Strangely enough I’ve been watching planet earth this week and as the crocs jump out of the water at the Wildebeest a wave of anger rushed over me as I thought “That’s not fair, they’re camping by the spawn point”.

    • bs angel says:

      I’m pretty sure we could write an entire strategy guide based off of episodes of that show!

  20. YamiR says:

    Am I… Am I in the past? :O

    Nah. Still today… damn.

    Just felt like checking how long you’ve been blogging:D
    I’ve been visiting you daily for as long as I can remember, it kinda feels like you’ve always been there:D

    Don’t EVER stop. You brighten up my day^^

    • bs angel says:

      Aaawww, thanks for that. Gave me a nice case of the warm and fuzzies. <3

  21. Ah damn. Took a solid 15 min but I finally tracked back to the first one.

    Man, I feel like I’ve missed so much from before mid ’08 when I first started reading.

    Well, at any rate—> Keep it up, your subtle (**ahem** **cough** **hack** **bloodpuke**) humor and unique insight into gaming has been a great source of entertainment for me.

    My box won’t be fixed for another month, just in time for me to drool over my copy of Mass Effect 2 before getting to finally pop it in and play. (I’ll try to dry it off first.) That said, I’d love to set up a game with ya, so when I get it back, be on the lookout for an invite from me to celebrate the return of my sweet gaming machine. :D

    -Adam

    • bs angel says:

      I look forward to it. You know where to find me!

      And thank you for your kind words. They mean a lot to me. Besides that whole puke thing of course. ;)

      • Qwerty says:

        How do even bloodpuke? All i know is tossin yer cookies, doin the technicolor yawn, and vomiting.

  22. DeepCee says:

    **Walks in**

    So this is where it all began huh? **looks around**

    I like it. Think I’ll settle in. **grabs a nice corner seat and settles in**

    Keep on rocking angel !! :D

    • Marksman says:

      Wow, time travel at it’s best. Go back in time 2 and a half years, ‘settle in’ and start all over again. Trippy.

      Who’s played TimeShift? That’ll get you thinking about time travel.

      • Jethro says:

        I just want to very quickly say, that using the word “trippy” was an awesome idea Marksman!

  23. Jethro says:

    It took me so, so long to get here! I hadn’t noticed the bar to search certain months, so I went back page, by page, by page…

    It took many hours, as well as a vast collection of spartan pron, but I have finally made it…

    Totally worth it! Keep up the good work you started back here!

    • bs angel says:

      Going back, post by post, must have taken so much time. I’m flattered you found it worth it, and happy there was a lot of Spartan pr0n to keep you going on your journey!!

  24. Josh .G says:

    Wow. I have just spent around 6 hours reading your blog O_O
    It was nice, almost like a book xD
    So, this is how you started out. Woah, just a fan all the way to one of the most regonised people on bungie.net xD
    I started reading your blog about 3 days ago and decided to go back some pages. By page 20 I though, “Oh, I can’t stop now. xD”
    Very nice blog :D
    Well, good luck, and I am now following you »:3

    • bs angel says:

      Wow, I’m incredibly flattered you spent some time going through the archives! That’s the biggest complement you could give me. For me gaming is about fun, hence my blog centers around the same concept. It makes my day to know somebody else gets enjoyment out of it as well. :)

      • iPurism says:

        Actually, I should be thanking you.
        This was a very entertaining blog to read, and honestly this looks fun to do.
        I should start one, just need to find interesting things to talk about :D
        Who knows, I could end up being your competition (not) xD
        Well, thank you for setting up this very entertaining blog. I am seriously addicted to it O_O

  25. iPurism says:

    Also, anyway of making your name have a capital P? As in iPurism? xD

    • bs angel says:

      Yup, I fixed it for you!

      • iPurism says:

        O_O Sorry for this stupid post, but how can I get it to stay that way xD
        Sorry, you’re so nice :D

        • bs angel says:

          I think it’s tied to your WordPress account so try going to your profile in the Global Dashboard section. Altering your nickname and then adjusting the “Display name publicly as” may do the trick.

  26. iPurism says:

    You genius! Thank you.
    Now everyone can be jealous of my sexy new name. (not)

    • Jethro says:

      I’m jealous of your sexy name :)

      • iPurism says:

        You should be.
        The little “i” makes it = WIN.
        How do you think Apple got so successful?

        • Jethro says:

          Good point.

    • iPurism says:

      So, (and again, sorry for the spam-ish comments.) any good ideas on how to start up my blog?
      I understand most internet shiz, but I just need to learn how to use WordPress. Any good addons, websites, or anything that could get me in the right direction?

      • bs angel says:

        If you have any specific questions, throw them to me via the contact page. I’m always happy to help people that are just getting started. :)

        • iPurism says:

          Thank you very much. :D

  27. Absolute Edge says:

    After a bit of guesswork and narrowing things down using the page number in the address bar, I finally got back to where it all began. To think I started reading your blog from the occasional updates that got posted on Bungie.net. It then slowly involved into a daily thing, and one of the first sites I fire up when visiting the net in the morning or when I’m just plain procrastinating. It’s interesting to see how far you have come in just under 2 short years, and I plan to continue following you into the future. Thankyou for helping me, and the rest of your followers, stay entertained :D

    Just a few more pages and you will have broken the 400 mark :)

    • bs angel says:

      My blog has definitely evolved over the years I’ve been doing this. I have found it seems to have a mind of its own and I’m just here for the ride. It’s only gotten more fun, and I don’t see myself stopping any time soon. Words like the ones you offered are a big part of keeping me going so thanks for that. :)

      And yay for almost 400!

  28. ElusiveEagle says:

    OMG! I found it! The *elusive* first blog post by our beloved bs angel. It brings tears to my eyes just reading it…how far you have come… :) It warms my heart. Here’s to many more enjoyable years and memories! *raises glass*

    • ElusiveEagle says:

      On a side note: I like how the date of your first post coincides with my birthday. It’s almost like it was meant to be! :rofl:

      • bs angel says:

        Aaawww, that’s your birthday? You are right, definitely meant to be! What a small world. :)

  29. Ray says:

    Saw your message on Twitter, figured I would go back to the beginning.
    ( http://twitter.com/bsangel/statuses/13059909875 )

    Congrats on having such an amazing and successful blog… I noticed you’re almost to 10,000,000 hits!

    Still the best blog I’ve ever found!

    • bs angel says:

      Thanks Ray, I appreciate it! You’ve been with me for quite some time too. I’d venture a guess that you were probably one of my first regular readers. <3

  30. Joshancy says:

    Hey! I guess I should start by thanking iPurism A.K.A Josh G. for introducing me to the blog.
    He’s a close friend of mine, I met him when I was in a line at Gamestop, trying to buy Halo 2 a few years ago. We started talking, and it turned out to be that we had the EXACT same name. Ever since, we have been the best of friends.
    6 days ago (Last Tuesday), I saw him reading your blog, and he explained to me what it was. The idea of a Halo-fan only blog blew my mind, and I started reading it. I read a few pages back (Up to “The Proper Way to Play Forza, Pg. 70-something?) and he dared me to read it from there to your first post. It took me a while, but I did it!. :D
    Anyway, I just wanted to say that this is a great blog, and pretty close to what he said (it’s like a book). He quizzed me every 100 pages to make sure I didn’t cheat, so now he owes me $20. (“What was the name of the machinima that she voiced-over? Gift of Mercy? Dammit.)
    I’d describe it as 551 pages of lols xD
    I am now one of your regular readers :)

    Thanks for the laughs, and I hope you keep it up! :)

    • bs angel says:

      I really can’t even begin to tell you how much your comment, and your kind words, mean to me. Usually I’m a wordy person but in this case, I have none. I’ll simply say thank you for absolutely making my day. <3

    • a rascal cat says:

      That was a very powerful statement my friend. Very kind, and very touching. I’m sure Angel appreciate that’s a lot!

      O wait…

      ^_^

  31. Joshancy says:

    @bs angel: Glad to make someones day ;) Expect a new member on your forum soon.
    @a rascal cat: Huh? Sorry, I cunt hear you (rimshot)

  32. Pingback: The Future of Hawty McBloggy: A Website Announcement « Hawty McBloggy Invites You to Play

  33. ComaToast says:

    And thank you for all you’ve given us.

  34. Joshancy says:

    My favorite post :)

  35. Glasses Guy says:

    Holy cow. So this was the first one. How moddest.

Leave a Reply

